The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limiting resellers and also allowing overselling

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by optize, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry about the moron question...

    We just started to offer reseller accounts, but we let them oversell on bandwidth/disk usage.

    If we give the reseller 5GB space, how would it prevent them from creating a 15GB account under their reseller account and someone upload 15Gb worth of stuff?

    Does it total up the accounts or how does it keep track to make sure they aren't abusing resources?
     
  2. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Seems silly, no?
     
  3. SharkSpace

    SharkSpace Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do not believe there is any way to stop resellers from going over the set bandwidth/storage limits with overselling enabled once accounts have been created. However they would not be able to create new accounts if over the limits, but that does little good if their current accounts have high usage.
     
  4. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I created a reseller, gave it 5GB disk space.

    Logged into the reseller, created an package, unlimited everything.
    Created a user, gave it the unlimited package.

    Logged in as that user, uploaded a 10G file.

    Waited a day.. Did 'list accounts' it shows the user is pushing 10Gig.

    Logged into WHM as reseller, tried to add new account, it let me.

    Whats the point of resources, if they have no effect?
     
  5. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I log into WHM as root and look at that reseller's resources:

    Disk Space Used in Meg ▴ 9546.51
    Disk Space Limit 5000

    :confused:
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Was overselling enabled for that reseller account?
     
  7. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, overselling was enabled.

    I thought overselling let the customer create unlimited packages, however they could only use as much bw/space that was given to them. Like a regular server would.
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From what I see in the WHM interface, a reseller account with overselling is limited by actual disk usage. Even then, the reseller account is simply not able to create new accounts.

    However, I was able to confirm on my test server that creating new accounts when the disk quota has been exceeded is possible. I'm following up on this internally.
     
  9. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you hear back on this?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On the Reseller, do you have the Quota Modification or Account Modification privileges enabled? Allowing the creation of accounts that do not belong to packages will mean these limitations will not be enforced.
     
  11. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    add-pkg=1
    add-pkg-ip=0
    add-pkg-shell=0
    all=0
    allow-addoncreate=1
    allow-parkedcreate=1
    allow-unlimited-bw-pkgs=1
    allow-unlimited-disk-pkgs=1
    allow-unlimited-pkgs=1
    clustering=0
    create-acct=1
    create-dns=1
    demo=0
    demo-setup=0
    disallow-shell=0
    edit-account=0
    edit-dns=1
    edit-mx=1
    edit-pkg=1
    frontpage=1
    kill-acct=1
    kill-dns=1
    limit-bandwidth=0
    list-accts=1
    mailcheck=1
    news=1
    park-dns=1
    passwd=1
    quota=0
    rearrange-accts=1
    res-cart=1
    resftp=1
    restart=0
    show-bandwidth=1
    ssl=1
    ssl-buy=1
    ssl-gencrt=1
    stats=1
    status=1
    suspend-acct=1
    thirdparty=1
    upgrade-account=1
    viewglobalpackages=0
     
  12. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    No, all of these are turned off:

    # Account Modification (warning: this will allow circumvention of account creation limits, give shell access unless explicitly disallowed, dedicated ips, etc)
    # Bandwidth Limiting Modification (Warning: This will allow circumvention of account package limits if you are not using resource limits)
    # Quota Modification (Warning: This will allow circumvention of account package limits if you are not using resource limits)
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please let me know every privilege you have assigned to this reseller.
     
  14. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for providing the ACL. I loaded this onto my test server with a test reseller that is well over their limits. When I applied this ACL to their account, I was unable to replicate the issue of being able to create an account successfully.

    I recommend letting our technical analysts take a look at your server. They can do a process trace what's going on and determine how this is happening so corrective action can take place. You can contact our technical analysts at: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
Loading...

Share This Page