The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Link from WHM to cPanel doesn't work

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mike73, May 4, 2006.

  1. mike73

    mike73 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi everybody,

    I've been using cPanel for years, but am new to WHM, so be gentle :)

    I set up a new account in WHM. When I look at the account (List Accounts) and click the cPanel link, a new window opens, but nothing happens.

    What did I miss?


    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The cPanel login from WHM should have a URL of the following format:

    Code:
    https://hostname:2087/xfercpanel/cpanelusername
    Are you getting this or something different?

    It would also be good to list:

    1) The version of WHM/cPanel you are using (just copy and paste it from the top-right of WHM)
    2) The OS on the server
    3) The OS on your machine
    4) The browser you are using

    You may also want to try the following:

    - Does the same issue occur from more than one machine?
    - Does the same issue occur from more than one browser?
    - Does the same issue occur from more than one local OS?
     
  3. mike73

    mike73 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    The URL is like the one you posted, except it has an IP instead of a host name.

    I'm using:
    WHM 10.8.0
    cPanel 10.8.1-R113
    CentOS 4.3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    I get the problem in the latest versions of IE and FF. I noticed in FF though, the the error is "Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 216.237.114.90:2083" even though the port in the URL is 2087. I don't know why it does that or if it matters, but thought I'd mention it.

    I only have one server, so I don't know if it occurs on more than one machine. This is my first dedicated server I'm renting from meganetserve.
     
  4. RisingHost

    RisingHost Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. mike73

    mike73 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A n00b I am.

    I had to add the forward slash to the end of the URL, but now it won't accept my password :rolleyes:


    Where do I fix it so the server so it looks around when people forget to write a forwardslash?
     
Loading...

Share This Page