Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Linux command to connect my shared host

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shankarganesh, Mar 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shankarganesh

    shankarganesh Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I am new to cpanel and web technology. I would like to check my server load frequently, so i have to connect my host in my linux machine. So how can i do this????
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you have root access to the server? If so you can monitor the load using the command top. top --help will give yu various other options too.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. shankarganesh

    shankarganesh Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    i have details like
    1. hostname
    2. Username
    3. Password

    how to check root access?

    but i can able to upload files using ftp commands.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can ssh to the server using :

    ssh user@hostname

    It will prompt for password. If you are able to login to the server please try typing the command top.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,835
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If all you want is a load average, you can simply use the uptime command:

    Code:
    # uptime
     7:29  up 10 days, 19:31, 3 users, load averages: 0.10 0.19 0.21
    This command gives you the server's uptime as well as the load averages. I prefer it if all I want is the load average, because the top command itself uses resources.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are on a Windows system, you are going to need an SSH client like putty at this location for SSH access to the machine.

    If you are on a Mac, you can go to Finder and enter Terminal to open up a terminal to connect.

    Given you aren't certain how to SSH, I would presume you aren't using Linux already, so either Windows or some Mac OS is the likeliest operating system you might have.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice