The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux command to connect my shared host

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by shankarganesh, Mar 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shankarganesh

    shankarganesh Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am new to cpanel and web technology. I would like to check my server load frequently, so i have to connect my host in my linux machine. So how can i do this????
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you have root access to the server? If so you can monitor the load using the command top. top --help will give yu various other options too.
     
  3. shankarganesh

    shankarganesh Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have details like
    1. hostname
    2. Username
    3. Password

    how to check root access?

    but i can able to upload files using ftp commands.
     
  4. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can ssh to the server using :

    ssh user@hostname

    It will prompt for password. If you are able to login to the server please try typing the command top.
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If all you want is a load average, you can simply use the uptime command:

    Code:
    # uptime
     7:29  up 10 days, 19:31, 3 users, load averages: 0.10 0.19 0.21
    This command gives you the server's uptime as well as the load averages. I prefer it if all I want is the load average, because the top command itself uses resources.
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you are on a Windows system, you are going to need an SSH client like putty at this location for SSH access to the machine.

    If you are on a Mac, you can go to Finder and enter Terminal to open up a terminal to connect.

    Given you aren't certain how to SSH, I would presume you aren't using Linux already, so either Windows or some Mac OS is the likeliest operating system you might have.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page