The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

List Accounts - Why split by page number?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by slim, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    In my WHM when I 'List Accounts' im always shown the top 30 accounts and AT THE BOTTOM of the page given the opportunity to select a different page to view.

    My current server has over 150 accounts split over 6 pages - I find myself always using the ALL option and then scrolling down the page in alphabetical order to find the domain I want to look at.

    It would be MUCH better to give the user some display options.

    For example.. I would be happy if ALL the accounts were displayed when I clicked on 'List Accounts' or maybe AT THE TOP OF THE PAGE have an 'ALL' button to save me scrolling down to the bottom each time to click it!

    Anybody else have frustrations with the 'List Accounts' function? I cant be the only one.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Actually, I also think it would be nice to have the navigation links at the top as well as the bottom (including the ALL link). If it is something that you want, you should put in a bugzilla enhancement request? :)
     
  3. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I, on the other hand, would prefer the list to only initally show 10 accounts - this is because our servers have been 100 and 1,000 accounts on them and I always use the Search box....
     
  4. Host4u2

    Host4u2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We put a link to "List all Accounts" at the top by doing the following:

    Via ssh:

    --- For X theme ---

    edit /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/themes/x/topframe.html

    Use Ctrl-V to page down to end. Then, in front of the last "</font>",
    paste the following:

    Code:
    <br>
    <center>
    <a href="/scripts2/listaccts?viewall=1" target="mainFrame"><font color=#ffffff>List All Accounts</font></a>
    </center>
    
    Now use Ctrl-x to quit, Save, and done!
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    All by default would be bad because many people have a few hundred accounts. A link for all at the top would be nice, but doesn't matter to me since I already have that in my modified skin.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I wouldn't want all by default either. However, the tweak that Host4u2 posted would be a nice addition to the skin by cPanel.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Anyone can add a link like I did to their WHM skin by just adding a link to the "command" file at /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/themes/x/command. The WHM skins are not modified near as much as the cpanel ones.

    Where you see:
    Code:
    WHMDEFINE:ACL=list-accts,ACL=all
    			<a href="/scripts2/listaccts" target="mainFrame"><b class=firstletter>L</b>ist Accounts</a><br>
    ENDWHMDEFINE
    
    add another link like:
    Code:
    WHMDEFINE:ACL=list-accts,ACL=all
    			<a href="/scripts2/listaccts" target="mainFrame"><b class=firstletter>L</b>ist Accounts</a><br>
    			<a href="/scripts2/listaccts?viewall=1" target="mainFrame"><b class=firstletter>L</b>ist All Accounts</a><br>
    ENDWHMDEFINE
    
    That file is a text file so if you download it to windows to modify, make sure to use ascii.
     
  8. slim

    slim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    I see now in the change log that the programmers added this to 9.9.8 (build 13)

    "add the ability to sort list accounts
    add a tweak option to specify how many accounts to list by default"
    :eek:
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Another one of my WHM customizations to remove now. ;)
     
  10. poppyq

    poppyq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'm using 9.9.8-C17 and I can't seem to find this option. Checked under List Accounts and Tweak Settings and such, but i can't find it. Can anyone direct me to where it is?
     
  11. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This was bugging me too - glad I found the solution in these forums!

    WHM > Server Setup > Tweak Settings > "Number (or all) of accounts to display per page in list accounts (30 is used if nothing is specified)."

    Entering 'all' (without the quotes, obviously) works just fine.
     
Loading...

Share This Page