The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

List for moving a server from one main IP to the another?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by WebHostPro, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    We are moving one of our colos and have 20 cpanel servers we will need to change the IPs on.

    Is there is a step by step anyone has made or any advice to help the process go smoother?

    I can add the new IP in the CPanel partner panel.

    Then I change the main IP of the server, not exactly sure how to do this with CPanel? I mean Apache will have the old address in it, dns ect..

    Maybe a tool that updates everything?

    Thanks, just trying to get any details I can for now.
     
    eyeshiv likes this.
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You will need to update the network configuration, and at that point you can use the IP Migration Wizard to ensure your accounts are assigned to the new IP address:

    IP Migration Wizard

    This ensures the DNS zones and Apache configuration file are updated with the new IP address.

    Thank you.
     
  3. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm sorry, it's been a while since I have done this. I run Centos 6, do you happen to know how to do this? There used to be a "setup" command you could run but it's gone now :(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. WebHostPro

    WebHostPro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I did, thanks for the link!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,294
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see the information in that thread was helpful. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
Loading...

Share This Page