The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

lite speed

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by shazi, May 16, 2013.

  1. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi !

    can somebody guide me about lite speed plugin , actually i am running a forum , its on vps but the site speed is very slow on other hand many times cpu load rises till 90 . please help .

    thanks
     
  2. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What exactly do you want to know about LiteSpeed?

    You may take a look at the following URL Overview

    LiteSpeed also have a cPanel plugin which could be integrated with ease.
     
  3. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks for your reply , i mean to say , will using lite speed reduce the cpu load and increases site speed ?
     
  4. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, LiteSpeed should help to increase the site speed.
     
  5. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    litespeed server or litespeed plugin or both are same ?

    - - - Updated - - -

    hosting provider gave me two option one is dedicated hosting which will cost 130$ per month and other is litespeed of cost 25$ per month , do you think this litespeed can compete to dedicated server ?
     
  6. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    anybody there to help plz?
     
  7. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Litespeed is an efficient web server having very less memory footprint. If the memory usage of Apache processes is high, and the problem is due to dynamic contents, you can go for LiteSpeed server. When you use it, it is better to use the LiteSpeed API for php. It's performance is almost double of that of Apache server.

    Could you please let me know the approximate average number of connections to your webserver now? and what kind of contents do you have in the website?
     
  8. faisikhan

    faisikhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Shazi, are you running any databases or php scripts. As for as website/forum speed is concerned, the optimization of MySQL (my.cnf) and PHP (php.ini) with other php scripts plays a very important part. You'll be able to find so many tips on google to optimize these.
     
  9. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks for your reply

    yes its a vbulletin forum ... i have checked many threads in this forum and made changes in my.cnf as well as in php.ini but now luck problem is still there ....
     
  10. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you also checked the option website optimization in your cPanel ? It will just enable gzip compression for your site which in turn improve your website speed and performance.

    Secondly mysql database of vb forum can lower down the speed of your website. You may also try to repair the mysql database from your cPanel. If there is any corrupt table then repairing database will correct it and will update the indexes for character columns that use the collation. This should certainly improve your site performance.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,775
    Likes Received:
    663
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've moved this thread over to the Optimization forum for you. You will likely get better feedback here, compared to the New Users forum.

    Thank you.
     
  12. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks for providing useful information , actually gzip already enabled in vbulletin inside . yes repairing the tables are really good idea let me try . thanks

    thanks admin
     
  13. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    me enabled the gzip but problem is still there , i think have to install the litespeed , can anyone guide me that which package of litespeed will be suitable for my site as my site is a vbulletin forum ...

    thanks guys
     
    #13 shazi, May 23, 2013
    Last edited: May 23, 2013
  14. GIANT_CRAB

    GIANT_CRAB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, please take a look at - litespeed_wiki:apache:ezcpanel [LiteSpeed Wiki]
     
  15. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
  16. AlexCl

    AlexCl Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    shazi, you should take a look at UNIXY's Varnish plugin. It will reduce load considerably and increase speed. Here's the link: UNIXy.Net cPanel and DirectAdmin Varnish Script Plugin .

    They also a Varnish + Nginx version, I'm still not sure which one is better as I'm testing both. But any one of them will help in your problem.

    All the best to you.
     
  17. shazi

    shazi Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks for assistance , yes its one another option you pointed , although i have tried nginx but its was not helpful in my said scenario . anyway thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page