The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Load on servers goes to 10 and more

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by plastic, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. plastic

    plastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey,

    The last couple of days the load on my server goes up and up, but from the moment I connect true ssh, it goes down again.

    When I do a top it gives httpd and mysql give 99% cpu usage from time to time.

    I see under Service status in WHM my mem usage is high (Memory Used 90.4 % )

    I not changed a lot the last couple of weeks.

    Processor Info

    Processor #1 Vendor: AuthenticAMD
    Processor #1 Name: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2100+
    Processor #1 speed: 1741.975 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 256 KB


    Memory Information
    Memory: 1025352k/1040320k available (1362k kernel code, 14580k reserved, -1775k data, 128k init, 122816k highmem)


    System Information
    Linux hulk.be-hostedns.be 2.4.21-grsec #1 Mon Aug 4 18:52:07 CDT 2003 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux


    Physical Drives
    hda: ST360015A, ATA DISK drive
    hda: attached ide-disk driver.
    hda: host protected area => 1
    hda: 117231408 sectors (60022 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=7297/255/63, UDMA(100)


    Current Memory Usage
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1025480 1002992 22488 0 5468 61552
    -/+ buffers/cache: 935972 89508
    Swap: 1052248 109672 942576
    Total: 2077728 1112664 965064


    Current Disk Usage
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda3 54G 13G 38G 25% /
    /dev/hda1 38M 10M 26M 28% /boot
    none 501M 0 500M 0% /dev/shm


    So I don't know why it's getting so high.

    are their other ppl with the same or simmelair problems?

    Any info would be helpfull.
     
  2. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    if mysql is showing 99% cpu you may want to log into mysql and see who's logged in and what they are doing.

    Also cpanels cpu/mysql stats section may help.
     
  3. plastic

    plastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I will keep an eye on it, for the moment, it's running fine, I hope it stays like this, thx in advance shaun ;)
     
  4. rsaylor

    rsaylor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Could be a script going wild. I had the same problem on Friday with one of my customer servers and it was a script with bugs connecting to a mysql database.

    When the load gets high do this:

    tail -f /etc/httpd/logs/error_log

    Then if you see a lot of entries for 1 script or html file you will know where the problem is.
     
  5. plastic

    plastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey,

    I found the client who was causing this, there where a lot of miss programmed stuff in his site, so when someone did a search it went into a loop until the client closed his browser :rolleyes: , isn't there an option in WHM to limit the users with cpu usage?
     
Loading...

Share This Page