The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

local installation before move to data center

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Paonza, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. Paonza

    Paonza Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi ALL!
    I'm a WHM/cpanel user on a semi-dedicate host plan.
    I'm going to buy my own server and buy my whm/cpanel license.

    The question is:

    Is it possible buy a licence and install everything (read move account from my current host) with the server here on my local ADSL connetion with dinamic IP and when everything is ready move the server to the data center?

    do you suggest me to install only a basic sys-op like centos and move to data center before whm-cpanel installation...

    thank you for your tips!
    Fabio

    :)
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You'll need a specific IP address before you can install and use cPanel. If you have the same IP for the duration of your cPanel install then you could simply get a 15-day license for that IP address, but it could get messy if you're behind a NAT firewall. It might be simpler to build the server and install the OS (CentOS minimal install is fine) then ship the server and install cPanel on it from there through SSH. That way you avoid any configuration problems later on down the line due to IP address changes.
     
  3. Paonza

    Paonza Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for the answer...

    I have another question:
    How many IP address I need to ask to my data center?
    Why I need more IP address?
    SSL site need a unique IP address?

    currenty on my hoster i have 6 IP address that i never user...

    thank you
    Fabio
     
  4. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    You can have as many IPs are you require.
    Each SSL requires its own dedicated IP.
     
  5. Paonza

    Paonza Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    are you sure?

    currenty I have one of my client that require SSL and my hoster install it on the main IP on a different port.... so why pay for many IP address??
     
  6. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    But thats still using one IP...

    From,
    Adam
     
Loading...

Share This Page