Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Local timezone for Users?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostcp3, Aug 14, 2003.

  1. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Any idea's on this.

    setup a local time zone in users accounts to over-ride the server settings.

    we tried a file in

    /home/user/etc/profile

    TZ='Country/City'
    Export TZ


    didn't work, appreciate any feedback.

    thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Howdy!

    What's it for? If it's for cgi, lots of programs allow you to set the time and date, so it shouldn't be that hard to add it in...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hey Casey

    we need this so that any programs running off that user account will use the time zone we specify.

    Instead of the default server time zone, and without having to modify any forums or scripts loaded into that particular account.

    some servers have clients from across the globe, letting them specify time zone would be good.

    thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Hmm. Here's a link for Debian:
    http://sophia.jpte.hu/linux/sag/node93.html

    Perhaps in the case of RedHat it would be a symlink from home/usr/etc/localtime to /usr/share/zoneinfo/LOCALTIMEZONE

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. manokiss

    manokiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    hi, just wondering if you did find a way to do this, we also need change one of the users timezone in his account.

    Thank you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice