The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

localdomains/remotedomains behaviour changed in DNS edit

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by 4u123, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can someone please confirm that I'm not going mad here...

    In the past, when editing a zone file from WHM, ticking or unticking the box "Always accept mail locally even if the primary mx does not point to this server" Would either add or remove the domain from /etc/localdomains and /etc/remotedomains accordingly. This is how it has always worked for me, across a large number of servers.

    In the last week, this has changed. That tick box now seems to have no effect at all. When changing an MX to an external one and unticking that box, the domain should be removed from localdomains and added to remotedomains but this is not happening. I've been forced to mke the changes manually.

    Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It seems like someone else is experiencing a very similar issue over in the following thread: http://forums.cpanel.net/f43/fed-up-automatic-cpanel-email-changes-122381.html
     
  3. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Great, thanks for letting me know another customer of yours is experiencing problems too as a result of your undocumented changes. It doesnt go any way towards resolving the issue though does it?

    We have the tweak settings option disabled because we use an external MX for all our hosted domains, but need all of them to be retained in /etc/localdomains by default.

    This issue happens when the customer requires their mail to be handled by an external MX that does not ultimately route mail to the cpanel server. So when making changes to the zone file, the check box is deliberately unchecked on these occasions - but as of this week, doing so no longer has any effect.

    This is a recent change. I would suggest that instead of hunting around the forum for similar posts David, that you find out what you have recently changed in your product that has caused this problem. If it is now the intended behaviour, it might have been nice of you to let your customers know that you changed something that has a direct impact on the hosted domains on a cpanel server.

    The problem is very simple. Checking / unchecking the box used to correctly set the domain in localdomains / remotedomains, regardless of any tweak settings variable - now it does not. We certainly havent changed anything on any of our servers so it must be a recent update that has caused this problem. Why not check with your colleagues and see? I'm sure it would take little time and you might actually fix the issue quickly now it has been brought to your attention, instead of it being sat in bugzilla for 10 years and continuing to cause problems for your customers.
     
  4. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I just want to confirm that this new behaviour is happening on all of our cpanel servers, its not an isolated incident.

    We are running... cPanel 11.24.4-R36167 - WHM 11.24.2

    So a warning to all users - when you set the MX and untick the box - you will be told.....

    But local mail wont be reconfigured - you will have to do it manually by taking the domain out of /etc/localdomains and adding it to /etc/remotedomains.
     
  5. scottc

    scottc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This just happened to us on a server running cPanel 11.24.5-C37127. It is irritating enough to have to manually edit the localdomains and remotedomains files, but we can live with that if cpanel would just leave them alone! Instead the remotedomains get moved back to localdomains and then we get help tickets because someone's mail is suddenly bouncing due to 550 Administrative prohibition errors.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A condition causing this problem is resolved in cPanel 11.25.
     
  7. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thats a great relief Ken, thanks for the update.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not certain the condition we defined matches yours.

    One of the checks performed during the modify zone process is to perform some basic domain resolution. If the resolution failed a warning would be generated and logged. The act of generating the warning was done improperly, preventing the proper updating of /etc/localdomains and /etc/remotedomains
     
  9. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would agree that the condition you describe is mostly unrelated to this thread.

    Are you suggesting that you cant reproduce the issue that I am having? I presumed that every cpanel server would have this problem as it is happening on all of ours.
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. Not suggesting that at all. After I posted that we fixed one condition in 11.25 I thought it best to provide some explanation. That way if the condition truly didn't match your circumstances you would have the opportunity to speak now, thus prompting a re-examination. Better that then let the matter go as 'resolved' only to find during the 11.25 release cycle that the matter was not fully addressed.

    A question about your server configuration: is the following tweak setting checked or unchecked:

    Code:
    Automatically setup /etc/localdomains, /etc/remotedomains, /etc/secondarymx based on where the mx entry is pointed.
    
     

Share This Page