The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Log in to phpMyAdmin directly

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by ralphday, Sep 30, 2006.

  1. ralphday

    ralphday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm trying to log in to phpmyadmin directly without having to go through the cPanel frontend first. When I go directly to http://example.com:2082/3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php and log in with my account user name and password the Welcome to phpMyAdmin page comes up but says Wrong username/password. Access denied. If I have logged into cPanel and visited the mySQL page then I can log out of cPanel and log directly into phpMyAdmin. I can clear cookies, HTTP authentication and close/reopen the browser and still the direct login will work. But the next day it quits working until I login to cPanel and visit the mySQL page again. Apparently visiting the mySQL page triggers some server side timer that only allows access to phpMyAdmin for a set period of time.

    Is there any way to change this so I can log into phpMyAdmin directly at anytime?
     
  2. RudiVisser

    RudiVisser Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've never experienced this. Upon linking directly to phpMyAdmin, I have just logged in with my cPanel details and it has worked fine.

    Does it always work when you access phpMyAdmin from the MySQL page located in cPanel?
     
  3. ralphday

    ralphday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, it always works from the mySQL page in cPanel.
     
  4. WindyT

    WindyT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've only noticed the problem like this on accounts I've imported, but I'm not sure that's the actual issue in every case - it could be a coincidence.

    I've solved the problem by going into WHM and altering the account password to what it already was. It resets the account.
     
  5. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    perhaps you may also try installing your own copy of phpmyadmin on your domain root directory and access it via yourdomain.com/phpmyadmin instead of getting through the Cpanel.
     
  6. ralphday

    ralphday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You nailed it, thanks. I just moved to a new server and had imported all the accounts when this started. I tried resetting the password to the same and it started working.

    Thnaks again!

    Ralph
     
Loading...

Share This Page