The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Log in using root password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MadMax1228, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. MadMax1228

    MadMax1228 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I want to log in to my C Panels using my root password. I am very new to this and undertand little. I owm all sites on my WHM and do not resell any space. What settings in the WHM will I need to address to access my C Panels with the root password?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should be able to login using the account username and your root password. Be sure it's an https:// connection though.
     
  3. MadMax1228

    MadMax1228 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    OK, but it used to automatically load. Unfortunately, now when accessing my C Panels vis WHM it does not stay as http"s" for all sited and I am not sure what I might have changed that caused it to dissapear for some.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In that case you'll want to go over your settings in the "Tweak Settings" section of WHM. You'll find those settings you want, there.
     
  5. Kailash1

    Kailash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you access WHM without https:// then you will not be able to access cPanel directly using https://.

    Also, select option "Automatically redirect cPanel/webmail URL to secure URL" from tweak settings.

    Kailash
     
  6. MadMax1228

    MadMax1228 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am still confused. I have 5 domains. When accessing the C Panel for 3 of the domains I show as being logged in as the root or reseller. When accessing the other 2, I am not logged in as the root or reseller.

    How can the setting causing this be a global setting as it is not changing all domains, but just 2?

    I hope that makes sense.....
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    All accounts must be owned by the same reseller.
     
  8. MadMax1228

    MadMax1228 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    They are......adding to my confusion.

    I am going to try and retrace my steps to figure out what I messed up. My wife says I should have paid a "smart" person to help me. :rolleyes:LOL!
     
  9. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Wow, sounds like your wife is really smart :D
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Clear your cookies, then login as the reseller to the reseller's own account. Can you access all those accounts owned by him then?
     
Loading...

Share This Page