The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Log Rotation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dragon2611, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have log rotation enabled in WHM (cPanel 11.25.0-R46156 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3.9) yet when I go to look at the archived logs the directory that the rotation settings screen suggest they should be in (/usr/local/cpanel/logs/archive/) or (/usr/local/apache/logs/archive/ in the case of apache) doesn't exist.

    Has cpanel been "rotating" the logs into a non existent dir and thus losing them or are they likely to have ended up somewhere else. :confused:
     
  2. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What are the sizes of your various cPanel/Apache logs? The default setting for rotation to be triggered is 300MB, and given that cPanel and Apache main logs do not usually grow as quickly as their domlog counterparts, it's quite likely that they haven't reached this archive threshold yet.
     
  3. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The perticullar one I was interested in was only 300kb and only had entries from this afternoon leading me to believe it had recently rotated out.

    It seems one of the sites CMS had been hacked and someone had uploaded a script to attempt to DOS people with a UDP flood.
     
  4. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you are concerned with domlogs, you may want to make sure you are retaining log data after stats generation. There are two settings that could be affecting the retention of your domlogs, both are in the Tweak Settings menu in the WHM:

     
  5. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It was set to delete after a stats run DOH! :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page