The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

login failure for new WHM accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bfassett, Jul 6, 2009.

  1. bfassett

    bfassett Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just installed WHM/Cpanel on a fedora vm, and all has gone according to documentation until I tried to create users, and have them log in.

    I have created two accounts by navigating from Account Functions > Create New account. I added correct information for domain, user, pass, and it successfully created the account. Here's the paste of the new account output

    Dns Zone check is enabled.
    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: blah.domain.com
    | Ip: 172.16.4.32 (n)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: user
    | PassWord: <password>
    | CpanelMod: x3
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: 0 Meg
    | NameServer1: ns1.jsv.qwest.net
    | NameServer2: ns1.ewr.qwest.net
    | NameServer3: ns1.iad.qwest.net
    | NameServer4: ns1.bur.qwest.net
    | Contact Email: blah@no.comm
    | Package: default
    | Feature List: default
    | Language: english
    +===================================+​

    I have tried multiple times to login as this user, and the browser just rejects the user/pass, and prompts for a new user/pass. I have changed the pw on this account multiples times to remove the possibility of a typo. So what on earth is preventing my newly created users from logging into cpanel?

    This is the url I'm trying to log in with:

    https:\\x.x.x.x:2087

    Do I have to log in with the domain associated with the user name? So would I put this into a browser?

    https:\\domain.com:2087

    I've actually tried this and it fails. Also, the popup login window states "The site says: "Web Host Manager"

    What logs should I check to find out the reason for the http login failure. Right now the only account I can log in with is root, and that is not ideal.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You created a cPanel account. You should login to cPanel if you are trying to login as that account.

    You can do this by going to http://SERVER:2082 or https://SERVER:2083 where SERVER is your server's hostname or any domain or IP hosted by the server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page