The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logs Errors After Upgrades

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Infopro, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hoping someone can help me sort these out. Upgraded to Apache2.2.6, MySQL 5.0.45, PHP 5.2.4 last night and have been struggling to solve these last few issues.

    1) In usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    [Mon Oct 22 08:42:59 2007] [info] [client ::1] (32)Broken pipe: core_output_filter: writing data to the network

    2) In var/log/messages
    (from several vb forums installations)

    Oct 22 08:40:06 myservername suhosin[833]: ALERT - script tried to increase memory_limit to 4294967295 bytes which is above the allowed value (attacker 'xx.xxx.xxx.xx', file '/home/variousaccounts/public_html/forum/includes/class_xml.php', line 35)

    cPanel Ticket #219305

    Ben said: We are working tonight, if you do run into problems, just let us know.

    (and then disappeared for the rest of the evening on me)

    Ryan said:
    Did you make any changes to your apache configuration outside of the easy apache script? Please let us know one of the websites currently running that is triggering this error.

    (and then disappeared as well, 3 hours ago)


    On problem 2 I've tried several things from these links, but no luck fixing so far.
    http://www.webhostgear.com/416.html
    http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1329782#post1329782

    If anyone has an idea on any of this, please let me know. Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As the [info] portion shows, this is merely an informational message and can be ignored. If you want to remove it from your log files though (because it's useless), from what I found on the Great Google, it appears related to Sendfile support in Apache. The "solution" recommended was to disable Sendfile in httpd.conf with:

    Code:
     EnableSendfile Off
    
    I don't actually have a server experiencing that error, thus I cannot confirm whether or not it actually works.

    Documentation link: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/core.html

    The application is attempting to use ini_set to increase the memory_limit and Suhosin apparently disallows this. If that script really does need 4 GB (4294967295 / 1024 / 1024= 4096 MB), then that's rather scary. But you can increase it for that VHost, or disable the Suhosin check for it.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for replying

    Sounds good, but I can't find this line in httpd.conf My server details are in the ticket if you'd like to have a look for yourself.

    Yes it is rather scary if a script needs that. But I suspect it actually doesn't. Something is going wrong there somewhere though. I've removed suhosin for the time being. Since this was coming up with serveral different forums, with nothing in common, 3 of them stock forums with no customizations, I'm stumped.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After a bit more research it appears this is an artifact of using PHP with Apache 2.

    Suhosin introduces yet more complexity to Apache/PHP setups. One needs to do ample research and testing before deploying in a Shared Hosting environment. It's much easier to deploy in a dedicated environment.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    cPanel makes it quite easy to deploy. Getting it working correctly is another matter I guess.


    I'm still unclear what you mean by this statement. Could you please explain a bit more? Is apache2 ready for prime time here or not?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I just want to post a note to thank Jesse for his support this evening getting this mess sorted out. I've yanked out EA3 with his help and won't be bothering with it again for the near future.

    Thank you Jesse.
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is more a problem with PHP than with Apache 2.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Why aren't more people having this problem then? Not sure I'd be alone in having this happen, but I guess anythings possible at this point.
     
  9. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To my knowledge, people do. Moving away from mod_php to PHP CGI, suPHP, FastCGI, etc. should prevent this message from appearing. The only info I could find suggested the problem stems from the use of PHP as an output filter (hence the reference to core_output_filter). The broken pipe is caused by a connection closed prematurely, for example someone hitting the Stop button in the browser or terminating a download.


    See for example: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=71958&highlight=core_output_filter
     
    #9 cPanelKenneth, Oct 23, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page