Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Looking for a way to do CC lookups on the fly?

Discussion in 'Security' started by jols, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    The result I am needing here is to use a command like:
    netstat -ntu | awk '{print $5}' | cut -d: -f1 | sort | uniq -c | sort -n

    ... then to have each IP in the list coupled with a country code. This is so I could see at a glance if we have IPs hitting the server from Vietnam, Russia, China, etc.

    Does anyone know of such a method or script command that CSF would pull up this kind of a listing on-the-fly?

    By the way, we do use CSF and I know CSF uses geo lookups. But I am not sure how to combine this feature with a netstat-line readout like the above.

    Otherwise, I am hesitant to install Maxmind's geo lookup tool because it would seem to slow down the server with geolookups on all connections to the server. So I'm just hoping for a netstat-like readout with geolookups on the fly, but only for the IPs which are currently hitting the server.

    Anyone?
     
  2. georgeb

    georgeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am using GeoIP.dat database and mod_geoip and nothing is slowing down. (GeoIP.dat from MaxMind). Using CC from CSF will load the server pulling out all the ip's. I can easy do a redirect or give a 403 to any ip from high risk countries, or to block in CSF.

    Regards,
    George B.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 georgeb, Feb 15, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  3. cPanelJamyn

    cPanelJamyn Social Engineer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    143
    As georgeb noted, mod_geoip should not slow down your server. It doesn't query a remote database - it uses a local db for lookups, and you can optionally cache the entire thing in memory. Using mod_geoip (Docs) would be more reliable and likely much faster than a custom-made solution.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice