Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Lvm Available Space

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by arcilio, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. arcilio

    arcilio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a doubts about it:
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_home 6.6G(total) 5.6G(used) 647M(available) 90% /home

    I instaled the system CentOS with the default options.
    Now i get alerts about this.
    How i resize it, whithout losing files? :rolleyes:
    I can make symbolics links ?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,578
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. arcilio

    arcilio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Could you elaborate on the purpose of a symbolic link? You could simply create /home2 on the primary partition and move accounts to the new home directory via the "Rearrange an Account" option in WHM.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. arcilio

    arcilio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    YEAH, exactly...
    I'll try this option!
    Thank you!
     
  6. arcilio

    arcilio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When i click on Rearrange an Account
    Not show to me the folders ( /home2 for example) to move the account...
    What's wrong?:
    I can't create a /home2 in same disk of /home?
     
    #6 arcilio, Oct 14, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Browse to "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" and make sure "Home" is selected for the following options:

    "Enter the location where you wish for new users’ home directories to be created. By default all directories matching the "Home Directory Prefix" are checked for available disk space and the directory with the most free space will be used."
    "Additional home directories matching the following value will also be used for new home directory creations. (Leaving this value blank disables the feature.) This option only takes one value."


    As for your last question, no, you should create home2 so the path is in your root partition "/" and not as "/home/home2".

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. arcilio

    arcilio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had already seen it. I can move the account at /home to /home2 after make it?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, you should be able to use the "Rearrange an Account" option in WHM after making that directory.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice