The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mail failing to second level domains like whatever@se.bp.com

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by noimad1, Jun 30, 2005.

  1. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having a lot of customers complain on one of our servers that mail is getting bounced back when they try to send to certain second level domains.

    Here are a couple of the domains that seem to always bounce:

    se1.bp.com
    research.telcordia.com

    The bounced message says:

    unrouteable mail domain "se1.bp.com"

    and sometimes:

    550-Verification failed for <whatever@research.telcordia.com>
    550-unrouteable mail domain "research.telcordia.com=

    Anyone have any ideas on why these would be failing?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  3. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I have a question about that then. What are the dnsreports requirements when getting info about subdomains? For example, I tried a few of mine, like h1.interxstream.com and it said the same error? However, I can get to that domain without any problems? Does there have to be a complete zone file for that subdomain in order for the dnsreport to show?

    I do have zone entries for h1.interxstream.com in my zone file, but it doesn't have its own zone file because it is a subdomain?
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No it doesn't need to have it's own zone. However, if you want to send email to/from it it does at least need to have its own MX record.
     
  5. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmm..now this is getting stranger. I tried to send to the se1.bp.com domain from my yahoo account and my personal time warner account and it went through. It just tends to bounce with our servers?
     
  6. lankyb

    lankyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    I've noticed that depending on which server the records are being requested from.... depends why the emails are not getting routed. Here are all the available NS servers for the telcordia.com and bp.com domains (as to what dnsreport.com says):

    Now i went through them one by one to see which ones can collect the MX records for research.telcordia.com, then se1.bp.com using this lookup tool [http://network-tools.com/nslook/Default.asp ]... this is what i found:

    RESEARCH.TELCORDIA.COM:
    dns1rrc.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dns1py4.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dns1rrc6.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dnsmx2pya.telcordia.com - Collected Fine
    dnsmx1pya.telcordia.com - Collected Fine
    dnsmx1rrc.telcordia.com - Collected Fine
    dns1pya.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    ----------
    ns0-b.dns.pipex.net - Searched, but could not find NS server relating to domain
    ns1-b.dns.pipex.net - Searched, but could not find NS server relating to domain
    ----------
    ns1.artificialmedia.co.uk - Collected Fine, used dnsmx2pya.telcordia.com to obtain records
    ns2.artificialmedia.co.uk - Collected Fine, used dnsmx2pya.telcordia.com to obtain records

    SE1.BP.COM
    dns1rrc.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dns1py4.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dns1rrc6.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dnsmx2pya.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dnsmx1pya.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dnsmx1rrc.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    dns1pya.telcordia.com - Timed Out
    ----------
    ns0-b.dns.pipex.net - Collected Fine, mx records only - goes to messagelabs.com
    ns1-b.dns.pipex.net - Collected Fine, mx records only - goes to messagelabs.com
    ----------
    ns1.artificialmedia.co.uk - Collected Fine, mx records only - goes to messagelabs.com
    ns2.artificialmedia.co.uk - Collected Fine, mx records only - goes to messagelabs.com

    Basically, in conclusion to this tiny (nearly pointless) experiment..... i was taught NS servers performed a search whenever the records in question where not available on themselves; The majority of telcordia.com NS server's timed out when the request was made that required them to search. This is like the servers going 'I have NO idea what your on about' when they are asked a question, instead of looking for the answer.

    Also se1.bp.com dns record only contains has MX records, no A or NS records. I'm not sure if this is necessary - I also thought subdomains did.

    DNSReport did not work for me when i tried to look at research.telcordia.com because its first port of call was dns1rrc6.telcordia.com. And se1.bp.com did not work because record only contains MX records, no NS for dnsreport.com to look from.

    Hopefully all this was helpful in some form or shape :)

    ---[ DnsReport.Com Errors ]-----------------------
    RESEARCH.TELCORDIA.COM
    [ERROR: I was unable to get an answer from the parent servers [dns1rrc6.telcordia.com], when I tried to find the NS records for research.telcordia.com.]
    SE1.BP.COM
    [ERROR: The parent servers say that the domain se1.bp.com does not have any NS records (although they may have some other information on that zone). I can not do a DNS report on a hostname (such as mail.example.com) or a domain name that does not have its own zone.]
     
  7. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow, thanks for going through all of that for me. That is a good tool to know about. I will let my customer know about the telcordia.com nameservers not responding.

    I guess I am still leary on the bp.com though, becuase those nameservers seemd to respond ok. I'll see if I can do research to see if whole zone files are supposed to be listed, or if just the mx records should work.....
     
Loading...

Share This Page