Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mail going to spam

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by buiho, May 12, 2017.

  1. buiho

    buiho Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    tz
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Emails sent from my domain on a VPS end up in the spam even in my own mailbox with the first test email I sent.

    Mxtoolbox shows
    Reverse DNS does not contain the hostname
    Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner

    WHat can I do? Complete novice on a VPS here.
     
    #1 buiho, May 12, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2017
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Your Hosting Provider can assist you with setting rDNS for your Hostname.
     
  3. buiho

    buiho Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    tz
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a VPS. How dod i go about doing that in WHM?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can't set rDNS from in WHM. You must contact your Hosting Provider and provide them with the hostname and IP address and they set this for you.
     
  5. buiho

    buiho Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    tz
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the info.

    Sorry for being such a noob, so if I have ten domains hosted on this VPS, do I need to send the hostnames of all these domains?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No worries. If they're all on the same IP, no. Provide the server's host.name.com and the IP it uses to your Hosting Provider and ask them to set the rDNS for you.
     
  7. buiho

    buiho Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    tz
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks, let me do that and see how it goes
     
    Infopro likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page