Mail piping problem with PHP script - Help please

Mar

Mar 23, 2003
Warning: imap_open(): Couldn't open stream {mail.XXXX.com/pop3:110}INBOX in /home/xxxx/public_html/helpdesk/receive.php on line 161

I'm a newbie to this and my helpdesk script's causing this problem on my cPanel hosting account; the code reads -

$query = "SELECT * FROM mail_accounts";
$mail_accounts = mysql_query($query);
while ($mails = mysql_fetch_array($mail_accounts))
{
$receive_server = $mail_servers[$mails["ms_id"]];
$r_login = $mails["login"];
$r_password = $mails["passwd"];
if ($mail_servers_type[$mails["ms_id"]] == "p") $receive_server .= "/pop3:110";
else $receive_server .= ":143";

if ($mbox = imap_open("\{$receive_server}INBOX", $r_login, $r_password))

I really need to get this sorted for cPanel hosting , so if anyone is able to help, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks
Mar

Mar

Mar 23, 2003
is there anything specific I should be asking my host about compiling IMAP on the server to make this script work? .... what I know about an IMAP program could be written on a postage stamp - and currently probably should!

The script used to work ok - and then one night it just stopped receiving tickets. Since then, I can only make it work on hosting of the DirectAdmin/Ensim flavor .

Thanks
M

chirpy

Verifed Vendor
Jun 15, 2002
Go on, have a guess
Firstly, I'm not a PHP programmer (I only do perl) but:

1. This is not a piping problem, because the script is logging into the POP3 account and retrieving email, it is not being sent from the MTA directly to the script (which is piping)

2. I may be wrong, but I believe that the method being used in the script probably uses PHP sockets() which are not built by default into PHP. So my guess would be that you need PHP recompiled with sockets() support enabled.

I could easily be completely wrong, though.

Mar

Mar 23, 2003
OK, thanks - I'm away to try that and see if it helps :)

will let you know.

M

Host4u2

Mar 24, 2002