The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mail redirect doesn't change sender when expanding

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by psu, Sep 3, 2014.

1. psu

psu Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

I am a beginner at servers and emails, but I will try to explain my problem to the best of my ability. Please just ask if you need more information / I have not added enough, and I will try to find it.

I have one main e-mail adress (let's say, contact@domain.com) for my organization. Any email sent to this email shall be forwarded to 15-20 members of the organization, to their own private inboxes. Some of them use the their university email as their private mail. Some of them use gmail, and also want to be able to respond with their @domain.com adress. My problem is that both forwarding and user level filtering seems to bug.

Forwarder
    Advantage: The emails are forwarded fine. I have yet to experience a problem with this.
    Disadvantage: If I create an email account, I have to manually delete all the emails from the server (to avoid using my limited capacity). If I don't create an account, gmails new security protocols won't let me send email from @domain.com.

User Lever Filtering / redirect
    Advantage: Gmail now let's me send mail from @domain.com.
    Disadvantage: The emails are being stopped by my universities spam filter, because of "False Sender". It seems the redirect does not change the from: email (or something like that).

Do you have any suggestions? I have no idea how to solve this problem and have been stuck in phone calls for hours.

2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)