The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mail server

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by klamato2001, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. klamato2001

    klamato2001 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good afternoon

    I have a question:

    I want to change my mail server from my current server, wich is just a shared account in a reseller server, wich i only have access to my account cpanel, to my new VPS wich i have root admistration.

    The domain is still on my reseller account, it's being transfer, but it's not yet done, but i would prefer to start using my new VPS mail server right away.

    Is it possible, how can i do it?

    Thanks
     
    #1 klamato2001, Apr 30, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can simply modify the MX records for this domain name at it's current DNS hosting provider. Assuming it's the existing cPanel server, you can use the "Edit MX Entry" option, documented here:

    MX Entry

    Thank you.
     
  3. klamato2001

    klamato2001 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks for the reply

    Yes, the shared host account has cpanel.

    I have been searching and correct me if i'm wrong, i need to do something like this, that i found in another post here, it's not the same example, but i guess the principle is the same:


    1. You have an account set up on cPanel for "companydomain.com"
    2. Your company operates their own mailserver on a static IP address 1.1.1.1 (not local to the cPanel server)

    If that is the case, then you simply want to do this (via http://www.companyname.com/cpanel):

    1. Edit the DNS zone for companyname.com

    a. change the "mail" CNAME record to an "A" record and point it to 1.1.1.1 (whatever the static IP of the mailserver is)

    b. Under "MX Entry", change the MX entry so that the MX is mail.companyname.com (instead of just companyname.com)

    c. Under "MX Entry" set it as a Remote Mailserver


    After doing all this steps i can start working with the mail server of the VPS, even though, this server doesn't have the domain transfer ready??

    And in the VPS side, do i need anything?

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Those steps are accurate, however rather than changing the "mail" entry to an "A" record, you should create a new "A" record that points a subdomain to the remote mail server. EX:

    mail-new in "A" >>> Remote IP

    Then, leave the "mail" entry as a CNAME pointed to the new subdomain. EX:

    mail in "CNAME" >>> mail-new.domain.com

    Thank you.
     
  5. klamato2001

    klamato2001 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you...

    I was able to do it and test it and it's working fine in the new VPS.

    Another question, does the sent mails sent via new VPS, count for the quota in the old server???
    I'm almost sure it doesn't, but just to be sure.

    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, email activity on the new server will not count towards any type of usage on the existing server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page