The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mail user quota probs

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by anand, Apr 21, 2002.

  1. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I don't know whether any one tested this out but here are some results which me and another user parag on this board found out.

    We created a user email id under domain abc.com with test@abc.com and assigned 1 MB limit to this account. User home directory showed us that the quota is being stored in /home/user/etc/quota and /home/user/etc/quota,v file. Now when we send a mail to this user from root (we used the root account to send mails as it would be the fastest :) ). The mail was first send of 1.5mb to check the quota, as expected it wasn't delivered. Checking the mail queue from WHM, we tried force delivery and the error resulted as mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox. The mail stayed there in the queue i guess probably for the retry time which is defined by default to try to deliver the mail later on. Now manually this mail was deleted and then another mail of 3K was send to the same address. The mail didn't get delivered. When we checked the mail queue, the mail was in queue, when tried force delivery, the same error msg repeated:
    mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox.

    This is quite surprising, with a user email account of 1MB, a mail of 3K couldn't be delivered ?? Please note we took into consideration the cpanel user disk quota limit everything, all looked perfect. Even this new user was fresh, so there were no older mails also.

    Also there are a few suggestions:

    1. After we give a particular X amount of quota for an email user, when we see the POP accounts list, there is no place the quota is listed there. It would be surely be confusing for users if they forget how much quota was assigned to a particular user.

    2. Apart from the quota listing, there should be an option wherein the cpanel user can edit the quota of mailbox again. At present though this can be manually done by editing the quota file in /home/user/etc.

    regards,

    Anand
     
  2. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:a8837bff3c][i:a8837bff3c]Originally posted by anand[/i:a8837bff3c]

    I don't know whether any one tested this out but here are some results which me and another user parag on this board found out.

    We created a user email id under domain abc.com with test@abc.com and assigned 1 MB limit to this account. User home directory showed us that the quota is being stored in /home/user/etc/quota and /home/user/etc/quota,v file. Now when we send a mail to this user from root (we used the root account to send mails as it would be the fastest :) ). The mail was first send of 1.5mb to check the quota, as expected it wasn't delivered. Checking the mail queue from WHM, we tried force delivery and the error resulted as mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox. The mail stayed there in the queue i guess probably for the retry time which is defined by default to try to deliver the mail later on. Now manually this mail was deleted and then another mail of 3K was send to the same address. The mail didn't get delivered. When we checked the mail queue, the mail was in queue, when tried force delivery, the same error msg repeated:
    mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox.

    This is quite surprising, with a user email account of 1MB, a mail of 3K couldn't be delivered ?? Please note we took into consideration the cpanel user disk quota limit everything, all looked perfect. Even this new user was fresh, so there were no older mails also.

    Also there are a few suggestions:

    1. After we give a particular X amount of quota for an email user, when we see the POP accounts list, there is no place the quota is listed there. It would be surely be confusing for users if they forget how much quota was assigned to a particular user.

    2. Apart from the quota listing, there should be an option wherein the cpanel user can edit the quota of mailbox again. At present though this can be manually done by editing the quota file in /home/user/etc.

    regards,

    Anand
    [/quote:a8837bff3c]

    Hi Anand

    Thanx for posting this.

    I also noticed one more thing that after we remove the email id which is created using quota the config for that id is removed from the quota file, but quota,v still has an entry for that account - following is the example for quota,v even after I removed the testquota account the entry for the test quota is still there.

    text
    @a0 1
    testquota:1024
    @

    whats the significance of quota and quota,v - i mean do they have seperate functions?

    And as mentioned by anand there should be some mechanism using which the admin can edit the mail quota as and when needed. Right now after imposing quota you can't edit it or you cant remove it through the control panel.

    Nick please reply back with the solution :)

    best regards,
    Parag
     
  3. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if its possible

    hi nick

    also is it possible to have an option in the www acount creation script itself to define a mail quota. so that the particular user will only consume that amount of quota for mail.

    just give it a thought

    best regards,
    Parag
     
  4. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    i must be blind, i got 78 installed and default / iconic, i cant find anything anywhere to alter quotas on a mail box...........what am i missing.............
     
  5. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:ccf230c5b7][i:ccf230c5b7]Originally posted by AlaskanWolf[/i:ccf230c5b7]

    i must be blind, i got 78 installed and default / iconic, i cant find anything anywhere to alter quotas on a mail box...........what am i missing.............[/quote:ccf230c5b7]

    You can't alter quotas! You can setup quotas on new email accounts. Try to make a new pop account, it would ask an optional field of space allocation.

    More info you can get by reading the complete post in this thread.

    regards,

    Anand
     
  6. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    nope, i tired everything, i attempted to setup a new POP and it never asked me for any quota stuff
     
  7. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually you can alter the quotas - Use the change password menu option from account management and it should show the quota input, with current quota total.

    If your missing the quota field in the add new accounts and/or update password menu, then your theme has not updated yet.
     
  8. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:77637c8fa9][i:77637c8fa9]Originally posted by Brad[/i:77637c8fa9]

    Actually you can alter the quotas - Use the change password menu option from account management and it should show the quota input, with current quota total.

    If your missing the quota field in the add new accounts and/or update password menu, then your theme has not updated yet.

    [/quote:77637c8fa9]

    Sorry for not checking up that option earlier. Yes the change password option do allows to setup quotas for mail accounts.

    Also as far as the themes are concerned i got the qupta option in default as well as in bluelagoon. Thx again for the point.

    But wat about the bug which me and parag mentioned ? I mean once we allocate the quota, the mails being bounced back ??

    regards,

    Anand
     
  9. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Submit a bug report, I haven't dug that deep yet. How much are you allocating to quota?


    [quote:748977638e][i:748977638e]Originally posted by anand[/i:748977638e]

    [quote:748977638e][i:748977638e]Originally posted by Brad[/i:748977638e]

    Actually you can alter the quotas - Use the change password menu option from account management and it should show the quota input, with current quota total.

    If your missing the quota field in the add new accounts and/or update password menu, then your theme has not updated yet.

    [/quote:748977638e]

    Sorry for not checking up that option earlier. Yes the change password option do allows to setup quotas for mail accounts.

    Also as far as the themes are concerned i got the qupta option in default as well as in bluelagoon. Thx again for the point.

    But wat about the bug which me and parag mentioned ? I mean once we allocate the quota, the mails being bounced back ??

    regards,

    Anand[/quote:748977638e]
     
  10. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mail quota

    I have yet to find this everywhere anyone says it is, neither in CPanel nor in WHM. where is this supposed to be?

    WHM 4.7.0
    Cpanel 4.7.0-87
    RedHat 7.2
    iconic

    WHM 4.7.0
    Cpanel 4.7.0-103 &&- still nothing of quotas
    RedHat 7.2
    iconic
     
  11. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's in the add account function in Cpanel and also the change password option. You should see an entry edit for the quotas.

    I had the same problem when people were first talking about it, I even had the correct build and the message in WHM saying it had been added but nothing showed up in Cpanel. I tried running /scripts/upcp and it still did not show up ..

    I was about to enter a message here and it suddenly showed up after a nightly cpanel update, don't ask me how or why?
     
  12. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    MQ

    I did the /scripts/upcp to 4.7.0-89 and still nothing on iconic on the bluelagon
     
  13. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the theme updates don't always update with the cpanel updates, this is the problem. What controls it, I'm not sure? If Nick was around, maybe he could shed some light here. I know one thing, some people had the update before others, even with the same cPanel build. Go figure..
     
  14. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not showing for me either. I will not use it anyway. It is more than likely going to create problems just like most new features :p
     
  15. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:495ddb954f][i:495ddb954f]Originally posted by Brad[/i:495ddb954f]

    Submit a bug report, I haven't dug that deep yet. How much are you allocating to quota?
    [/quote:495ddb954f]

    Dear Brad,

    If you read this extract of my original post you would know how much quota was assigned:

    [quote:495ddb954f]
    We created a user email id under domain abc.com with test@abc.com and assigned 1 MB limit to this account. User home directory showed us that the quota is being stored in /home/user/etc/quota and /home/user/etc/quota,v file. Now when we send a mail to this user from root (we used the root account to send mails as it would be the fastest ). The mail was first send of 1.5mb to check the quota, as expected it wasn't delivered. Checking the mail queue from WHM, we tried force delivery and the error resulted as mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox. The mail stayed there in the queue i guess probably for the retry time which is defined by default to try to deliver the mail later on. Now manually this mail was deleted and then another mail of 3K was send to the same address. The mail didn't get delivered. When we checked the mail queue, the mail was in queue, when tried force delivery, the same error msg repeated:
    mail box full, MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/username/mail/test/inbox.
    [/quote:495ddb954f]

    Please do let me know incase there is anything else i need to clarify in regards to the test we did.

    regards,

    Anand
     
  16. phytoon

    phytoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any solution?

    There has been much discussion on various aspects of the mail quota problem. However, the core issue has remained unresolved.

    I would like to add some more findings: the quota problem shows only in case of an account other than the default account.

    Is there any solution?
     
  17. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:a3e1883f45][i:a3e1883f45]Originally posted by phytoon[/i:a3e1883f45]

    There has been much discussion on various aspects of the mail quota problem. However, the core issue has remained unresolved.

    I would like to add some more findings: the quota problem shows only in case of an account other than the default account.

    Is there any solution?[/quote:a3e1883f45]

    The problem has to be quite obvious with email accounts apart from default account as the quota limits are set only on email accounts apart from the default email id.

    As far as the problem solution is concerned, i am not sure what nick has done about this. Nick can we please have something on this ?

    regards,

    Anand
     
  18. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 4.7.0
    Cpanel 4.7.0-101
    RedHat 7.2

    Still no sign of this feature
     
  19. Daniel

    Daniel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just had to remove quotas for an email address. It was set at 10MB but with an empty inbox it would return full with a 12k attachement.

    address@domain.com
    mailbox is full (MTA-imposed quota exceeded while writing to file /home/user/mail/address/inbox):
    retry timeout exceeded
     
  20. vegs

    vegs Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    instead of fixing the BUGS that has been around for 1 MONTH, CPanel add those useless features. THIS mailbox quota problem is starting to create troubles. WHEN can I EXPECT this to be FIXED ?

    EVEN with NO attachment I still get quota full, this thread started at the begining of april and it is may now and still no fix? geez!!

    Its not like it's free to use cpanel, WE PAID FOR IT!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page