Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Mailman error 500

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by gounder, Apr 10, 2002.

  1. gounder

    gounder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Hi,
    I get an &Internal Server Error& 500 when trying to manage the Mailman List. There is no problem creating a list, but I seem not being able to Manage the List



    ------------------------
    Best Regards
    Raj Gounder
    raj@hostiweb.com
    Hostiweb.com
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Are you running suexec ?
    What is in the apache error_log when you try to get to the admin page?

    There are many discussions about this on this forum, if you do a search for &mailman 500 error& you will definitely find some help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    "mailman 500 error"

    &mailman 500 error& I did this search and got 1 listing with someone else with no answer to this problem
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gounder

    gounder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Currently I disabled the SuExec and it seem to have fixed the problem, but I want to use the SuExec for security reasons.


    -----------------
    Raj Gounder
    Hostiweb.com
     
  5. Stephen

    Stephen Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    308
    Me too! Is there a way we can get both Mailman and suExec working at the same time?
     
  6. gounder

    gounder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Location:
    Bay Area
    MailMan

    Hi Stephen,
    I have not figured out a way to do this. I had sent a support email to cpanel developers and they had sort of looked at my server but have not fixed the problem.

    I hope someone come with a solution.

    ---------------------
    Raj Gounder
    Hostiweb.com
     
  7. Stephen

    Stephen Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    308
    Here is the fix!

    1. Enable SuExec
    2. Run /scripts/fixmailmanwithsuexec
    3. &Move the vhost it creates in httpd.conf to the top of all the vhosts =& restart httpd&
    4. Run /scripts/fixoldlistswithsuexec

    Done ;)
     
  8. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:d1d76b0910][i:d1d76b0910]Originally posted by gounder[/i:d1d76b0910]

    but I want to use the SuExec for security reasons[/quote:d1d76b0910]

    We disabled SuExec on all our servers. Too many issues and definitely not worth it. There are better ways to enhance security than going through this hassle. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice