Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

mailman on secondary nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Radio_Head, Sep 11, 2002.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Hello,

    my mailman program has been installed on http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin instead of
    http://ns.myserver.com/mailman/admin ( I don't know why) .

    It works fine on ns2 , however on Cpanel (when users click on EDIT list) there is a link to
    http://ns.myserver.com/mailman/admin instead of http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin ...


    What I have to do to fix this ?

    Thank you!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Anyone can help please ? I opened a tickect but I am still waiting from over 24 hours ....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Anyone can help please ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    still waiting a reply from tickect support after a week .. anyone can help ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    up :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
    I thought that Mailman used hostname.serverdomain.com, not ns or ns2. :?

    Does http://ns.myserver.com/ resolve to anything now?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:e824a5f54b][i:e824a5f54b]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:e824a5f54b]

    up :([/quote:e824a5f54b]
    I have a sneaky feeling that your nameserver is also your server's hostname. Have you got separate IP addresses for your two nameservers and the hostname?
     
  8. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:6dab146d86][i:6dab146d86]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:6dab146d86]

    [quote:6dab146d86][i:6dab146d86]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:6dab146d86]

    up :([/quote:6dab146d86]
    I have a sneaky feeling that your nameserver is also your server's hostname. Have you got separate IP addresses for your two nameservers and the hostname?[/quote:6dab146d86]

    Yes it's correct . Is it a problem ? Do I have to change my hostname ?

    Currently these are my nameservers
    ns.myserver.com
    ns2.myserver.com

    and it's my hostname
    ns.myserver.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    i changed my hostname as follows :

    uranus.myserver.com

    while my nameservers are...

    ns.myserver.com
    ns2.myserver.com

    However the problem on my mailman still exists :

    Now when my clients click on mailman EDIT list (on Cpanel) there is a link to
    http://uranus.myserver.com/mailman/admin

    but it generates an internal server error .


    http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin still works fine !


    What I have to do to fix this ? Perhaps I have to reconfigure mailman ? Any idea to do that ?

    Thank you!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Are the IP addresses of your nameservers different from each other?
     
  11. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:3bac70ca4f][i:3bac70ca4f]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:3bac70ca4f]

    Are the IP addresses of your nameservers different from each other?[/quote:3bac70ca4f]

    Yes , they are different .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Which nameserver shares the IP with the hostname?
     
  13. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:42a40bb45d][i:42a40bb45d]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:42a40bb45d]

    Which nameserver shares the IP with the hostname?[/quote:42a40bb45d]


    first nameserver , ns.myserver.com

    (also some shared ip account use that ip address) .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
    Is ns2 IP associated to a virtual http server?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:afb9a9e1e1][i:afb9a9e1e1]Originally posted by Juanra[/i:afb9a9e1e1]

    Is ns2 IP associated to a virtual http server?[/quote:afb9a9e1e1]

    No , it's associated to a separate ip address .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
    I mean if it goes to a web page. Maybe you could at least redirect the mailman directory to the other IP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:4fc063f9c4][i:4fc063f9c4]Originally posted by Juanra[/i:4fc063f9c4]

    I mean if it goes to a web page. Maybe you could at least redirect the mailman directory to the other IP.[/quote:4fc063f9c4]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    [quote:55c2f8c28d][i:55c2f8c28d]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:55c2f8c28d]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..[/quote:55c2f8c28d]
    Well, that means ns2 shares your hostname ip...

    Does ns bring up the welcome page?

    You also need to check /etc/hosts to see what it says for your IPs.
     
  19. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    343
    [quote:cc375d8734][i:cc375d8734]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:cc375d8734]

    [quote:cc375d8734][i:cc375d8734]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:cc375d8734]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..[/quote:cc375d8734]
    Well, that means ns2 shares your hostname ip...

    Does ns bring up the welcome page?

    You also need to check /etc/hosts to see what it says for your IPs.[/quote:cc375d8734]

    ns.myserver.com opens one of the account which are using shared ip .


    on my /etc/host
    there is my server ip address associated with
    ns.myserver.com and my hostname uranus.myserver.com .
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice