The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mailman on secondary nameserver

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Radio_Head, Sep 11, 2002.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Hello,

    my mailman program has been installed on http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin instead of
    http://ns.myserver.com/mailman/admin ( I don't know why) .

    It works fine on ns2 , however on Cpanel (when users click on EDIT list) there is a link to
    http://ns.myserver.com/mailman/admin instead of http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin ...


    What I have to do to fix this ?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Anyone can help please ? I opened a tickect but I am still waiting from over 24 hours ....
     
  3. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Anyone can help please ?
     
  4. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    still waiting a reply from tickect support after a week .. anyone can help ?
     
  5. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    up :(
     
  6. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I thought that Mailman used hostname.serverdomain.com, not ns or ns2. :?

    Does http://ns.myserver.com/ resolve to anything now?
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e824a5f54b][i:e824a5f54b]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:e824a5f54b]

    up :([/quote:e824a5f54b]
    I have a sneaky feeling that your nameserver is also your server's hostname. Have you got separate IP addresses for your two nameservers and the hostname?
     
  8. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:6dab146d86][i:6dab146d86]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:6dab146d86]

    [quote:6dab146d86][i:6dab146d86]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:6dab146d86]

    up :([/quote:6dab146d86]
    I have a sneaky feeling that your nameserver is also your server's hostname. Have you got separate IP addresses for your two nameservers and the hostname?[/quote:6dab146d86]

    Yes it's correct . Is it a problem ? Do I have to change my hostname ?

    Currently these are my nameservers
    ns.myserver.com
    ns2.myserver.com

    and it's my hostname
    ns.myserver.com
     
  9. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    i changed my hostname as follows :

    uranus.myserver.com

    while my nameservers are...

    ns.myserver.com
    ns2.myserver.com

    However the problem on my mailman still exists :

    Now when my clients click on mailman EDIT list (on Cpanel) there is a link to
    http://uranus.myserver.com/mailman/admin

    but it generates an internal server error .


    http://ns2.myserver.com/mailman/admin still works fine !


    What I have to do to fix this ? Perhaps I have to reconfigure mailman ? Any idea to do that ?

    Thank you!
     
  10. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are the IP addresses of your nameservers different from each other?
     
  11. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:3bac70ca4f][i:3bac70ca4f]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:3bac70ca4f]

    Are the IP addresses of your nameservers different from each other?[/quote:3bac70ca4f]

    Yes , they are different .
     
  12. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Which nameserver shares the IP with the hostname?
     
  13. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:42a40bb45d][i:42a40bb45d]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:42a40bb45d]

    Which nameserver shares the IP with the hostname?[/quote:42a40bb45d]


    first nameserver , ns.myserver.com

    (also some shared ip account use that ip address) .
     
  14. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  15. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:afb9a9e1e1][i:afb9a9e1e1]Originally posted by Juanra[/i:afb9a9e1e1]

    Is ns2 IP associated to a virtual http server?[/quote:afb9a9e1e1]

    No , it's associated to a separate ip address .
     
  16. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    I mean if it goes to a web page. Maybe you could at least redirect the mailman directory to the other IP.
     
  17. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:4fc063f9c4][i:4fc063f9c4]Originally posted by Juanra[/i:4fc063f9c4]

    I mean if it goes to a web page. Maybe you could at least redirect the mailman directory to the other IP.[/quote:4fc063f9c4]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..
     
  18. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:55c2f8c28d][i:55c2f8c28d]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:55c2f8c28d]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..[/quote:55c2f8c28d]
    Well, that means ns2 shares your hostname ip...

    Does ns bring up the welcome page?

    You also need to check /etc/hosts to see what it says for your IPs.
     
  19. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:cc375d8734][i:cc375d8734]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:cc375d8734]

    [quote:cc375d8734][i:cc375d8734]Originally posted by Radio_Head[/i:cc375d8734]

    ns2.myserver.com opens the Apache welcome page ..[/quote:cc375d8734]
    Well, that means ns2 shares your hostname ip...

    Does ns bring up the welcome page?

    You also need to check /etc/hosts to see what it says for your IPs.[/quote:cc375d8734]

    ns.myserver.com opens one of the account which are using shared ip .


    on my /etc/host
    there is my server ip address associated with
    ns.myserver.com and my hostname uranus.myserver.com .
     
Loading...

Share This Page