The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mailman

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by LS_Drew, Jul 15, 2003.

  1. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone else experiencing runaway mailman processes?

    Why is this happening? Any fixes?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. cweb

    cweb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi :)

    When you say 'runaway'... do you mean as in a ridiculous number of the one email error message being thrown out by mailman?

    If so.... then YES <growl> :mad:

    We have disabled mailman now...


    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I mean a process taking up 99% processor power...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    Is this the one (I get it every minute) does disabling mailman have any ill effects?
    .........................

    Traceback (innermost last):
    File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/cron/qrunner", line 82, in ?
    import paths
    File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/cron/paths.py", line 60, in ?
    import korean.aliases
    File "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/pythonlib/korean/aliases.py", line 23, in ?
    import encodings.aliases
    ImportError: No module named encodings.aliases
     
  5. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, yeah, we're getting that too...but watching top, mailman is running away with 99% processor as well.

    Also, friggin OScommerce is broken and Exim just barely works.

    I need a drink...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    I just commented out the lines with the errors and the system messages stopped.
     
  7. SteveD3

    SteveD3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    27455 mailman 25 0 4968 4404 1980 R 47.4 0.2 896:41 python2


    this is in TOP when I view mailman is loading up on CPU usage. Anyone know why or how to stop it? I mean 47% CPU is bad sence that low, its normaly at 96%


    -Steve

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problem here. How to stop mailman and what ill effect it will have if stopped?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well all mailing list on my server are not working, only new created list works, wich is not very useful in this moment.

    I'v try with /usr/local/cpanel/bin/convertmailman2 to fix things
    but didn't help.

    Will someone fix this things up?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is bad. Mailman has just crashed my server with two processes running consuming all CPU power. Had to reboot the server.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Things are now critical.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you would like to take things in your hands
    you can make symlink with command

    ln - /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/mail/mailman /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/mail/wrapper

    Sometimes best way to solve some things it's to do it by your self.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #12 zex, Jul 16, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2003
  13. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So what will the symlink do?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will point directly to mailman program all mail's wich are going to wrapper, since wrapper does not exist more this will simple forward all requests directly.

    In new version of mailman wrapper is probobly not needed anymore and it's removed from package but old pointers for mailing lists are still going to wrapper, so this solution will just forward mail's to the mailman itself.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. pleighly

    pleighly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Runaway Mailman Processes

    Yes, ALL of my servers are NOW running at very high CPU loads since the upgrades. I think it has to do with smtps now running, but I'm a neophite, so I really have no idea. Someone mentioned halting Mailman, can you explain how I do this?

    Thanks,

    Paul
    pleighly@mindspring.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  17. pleighly

    pleighly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Killing Mailman

    Thanks Rob, but This thread shows how to kill the parent process which is only temporary. As soon as exim is restarted as in /etc/rc.d/init.d/exim start it starts back up again. I noticed that before the update when doing the above command to start exim, I would get a line that said starting exim OK then one that said starting antirelayd OK, NOW I get starting exim OK, starting exim-smtps OK...etc I'm just assuming that the exim-smtps is the mailmain process? What I want to do is diable it ENTIRELY. so when exim restarts it doesn't get re-enabled. ???

    Paul

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. pleighly

    pleighly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    exim configuration

    The current WHM NEWS states the following:
    exim Configuration Editor It is now possible to make changes to your exim.conf without having cPanel overwrite them during the next update. Just use the exim Configuration Editor under Server Setup. (7.2.0 build 1 or later only)

    I am currently on 7.2.1 E-49 or something like that and I can find no exim configuration editor under Server Setup. This would most likely solve my problems if I could configure exim to do what I want.?

    Thanks,

    Paul

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. PeteC

    PeteC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Re: exim configuration

    You can edit the Exim configuration by hand. It's at /etc/exim.conf

    I didn't have good results with the Exim configuration editor, but if you want to try it, you have to change your WHM theme to X; that's the only theme which has a link to the configuration editor.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    There is not 7.2.1 E-49 according to Cpanel (http://layer2.cpanel.net/). There is not even any Build numbered 49 in 7.x series.

    If you are using 7.2.1 E-46 (The latest), make sure you are using an updated WHM Theme like x and not Xskin so you can see 7.x WHM new features. You should see "
    Exim Configuration Editor" under Server Setup.

    It's recommended to it Exim Conf file through the shell (pico /etc/exim.conf)

    You can keep a backup from it before editing it.

    Make a copy from exim.conf before editing:
    cp /etc/exim.conf /etc/exim.conf.orig

    edit exim.conf
    pico /etc/exim.conf

    After editing and saving restart exim for the new settings to take effect:
    service exim restart
     
    #20 mmkassem, Jul 17, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page