The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mailman...

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by aharon, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Basic Mailman help...

    I am trying to set Mailman on my new server. Cpanel let me create new lists, but I can not see where they are nor how to control them after that...

    I made a "test" list on cPanel, but
    http://domain.com/mailman/admin/test/
    produces "No such list"..

    I was searching in vain for a basic cPanel & Mailman tutorial, any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.

    Aharon
     
    #1 aharon, Apr 28, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2004
  2. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the idea. Strange, it still claims the list does not exist.. ("No such list test_domain.com")

    Aharon
     
  4. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the mailing list shown when you go to cPanel -> Mail -> Mailing Lists (may differ depending upon theme)? If so does the "Edit" link work?
     
  5. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's the X theme. When I go to cPanel -> Mail -> Mailing Lists , it asks me to create a new mailing list. After I create, there are no further or new options, certainly not "edit"...

    Thanks!

    Aharon
     
  6. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Then it looks like there is a problem with mailing list creation. Contact your hosting provider with this issue. If this is your server, then run /scripts/fixmailman. If that doesn't work, then the best bet is to submit a support ticket so that we can sort it out.
     
  7. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My hosting company said that they tried fixmailman, but got "no result". They said that they contacted cpanel for assistance, and were told that they have to wait for a major fix, as this, apparently, is a bug in cPanel Build 9.2.0-STABLE 25.
    I am surprised I have not seen here, nor in other forums, any mention of such an upgrade needed.

    Thanks for your replies.

    Aharon
     
  8. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To the best of my knowledge there is no such mailman "bug". I saw a recent ticket that described a similar issue, but the customer never responded to the tech's initial question and the issue was closed automatically after four days. If it is a bug then I'd like to verify it so that it can be resolved.
     
  9. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is becoming a bit strange... My host said that the reason they said it's a bug in cpanel, is that they have similar problems with other servers with cpanel. Then I received a mail saying that they, my host, "made a few mods to cpanel's coding" and that I should try Mailman. (It still doesn't work..)
    To sum up:
    * They call it a cpanel bug, although this is not an agreed term with cpanel.
    * They tried to fix(?) cpanel code - but that does not work.

    Please note that the host in question is fairly reputable and has been there for a good few years.

    Thanks!

    Aharon
     
  10. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have them go to the mailman/bin directory in the server and do a list_lists and see if the list you created even exists. if it is not there then it is a mailman problem. if it is then cpanel for some reason does not display it.
    we also run the latest stable release of cpanel and have no problems with mailman (besides the normal mailman problems ;-) )
    But as a hint to the cpanel team, mailman 2.14 is out and has major fixes according to Barry (the creator of mailman). It is time for an update on cpanel!
     
  11. aharon

    aharon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks cyberspirit. I have just asked them to do that...

    Aharon
     
  12. spiritguardian

    spiritguardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same error. I am the host admin and have opened a ticket on the matter.

    I ran /scripts/fixmailman and this is what I get:


    [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid'
    Is qrunner even running?
    Processing sky
    Processing steve
    Processing sg
    Upgrading from version 0x20103f0 to 0x20103f0
    getting rid of old source files
    no lists == nothing to do, exiting
    Site list is missing: mailman

     
  13. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    spiritguardian, it looks like your mailman is not running and also there are no lists!
     
  14. spiritguardian

    spiritguardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply!

    Yes, it would appear that mailman is not, in fact, running. Like all problems, I first want to see if there is something wrong with cpanel or my managed servers's configuration so that I may report a bug or follow specific procedures to fix the problem.

    Must I start mailman from the command line? I'll also have to configure it to start at boot. I don't want to touch anything until I hear from cpanel and my host.
     
  15. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mailman should be started with all cPanel services. The script that starts it can usually be found in /etc/init.d/cpanel and also at /usr/local/cpanel/etc/init/startup.

    Starting cpanel should start Mailman.
     
  16. spiritguardian

    spiritguardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, mailman is not running. I checked the mailman error log and here's what I see:

    Code:
    May 14 09:59:45 2004 mailmanctl(18425): PID unreadable in: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid
    May 14 09:59:45 2004 mailmanctl(18425): [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/data/master-qrunner.pid'
    May 14 09:59:45 2004 mailmanctl(18425): Is qrunner even running?
    May 14 09:59:46 2004 mailmanctl(18437): Site list is missing: mailman
    May 14 09:59:46 2004 (18437) Site list is missing: mailman
    
    Here's the startup script:

    Code:
            if [ -e "/usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/mailmanctl" ]; then
                    eval `grep skipmailman= /var/cpanel/cpanel.config`
                    if [ ! "$skipmailman" = "1" ]; then
                            echo -n "Starting mailman services: "
                            /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/mailman/bin/mailmanctl -s start
                            echo
                    fi
            fi
    

    Seems ok.

    I tried running mailmanctl start and I get this error:

    Code:
    Site list is missing: mailman


    What's going on?
     
  17. spiritguardian

    spiritguardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried adding a mailing list manually with

    Code:
    ./newlist mailman@[url]www.mydomain.com[/url]
    But then I get an error

    Code:
    invalid list name mailman@domain
    I have the latest version of cPanel and I am trying to use mailman for the first time. Is this not a common problem?
     
  18. spiritguardian

    spiritguardian Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well, I had to change my Default.py DEFAULT_URL_HOST because it was just set to "mydomain" instead of "mydomain.com"

    Frustrating. Not sure what I did wrong to cause this, but I believe I am in business now.

    Thanks for you help, people.
     
  19. orb_sp

    orb_sp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ran:
    /scripts/fixmailman
    /scripts/fixmailmanwithsuexec
    /scripts/reinstallmailman

    I was then able to create mailing lists without any trouble.
     
  20. jayntguru

    jayntguru Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Acworth, GA USA
    Following these exact steps fixed the issue for me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page