The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MailScanner configuration causes high load !

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by sh4ka, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    Recently installed MailScanner using chirpy's script. Everything is fine.. but the big problem is that the load average is very high after installed this software.

    Server is Dual Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz x 4 procs. 2 GB RAM with high e-mail traffic.

    Can anyone give me some tips to configure MailScanner to stop spam and avoid a high load average ?

    Maybe you can tell me what variables are u using in the config file..

    Thanks.
     
    #1 sh4ka, Mar 7, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    ASSP is another SPAM solution http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=61125
     
  4. sh4ka

    sh4ka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    US
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am trying to test MailScanner first... If I dont have good results, I will try ASSP.

    Anyway, does anyone have another tips for optimization ?

    Thanks.
     
  5. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    If Chirpy set it up shouldn't he include optimizing it for your server?

    Uninstall it.. would be an option.

    Seriously, I'm not sure why this is still being used on servers. The resource usage is not reasonable in a production environment IMO.

    There are other solutions that work just as well, if not better, without totally killing your system resources. You just don't have a pretty GUI that his script includes.
     
  6. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Check this thread

     
  7. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Why do you think everyone has a resource issue?

     
  8. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Because its a known resource eating program
     
Loading...

Share This Page