The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mailscanner on Centos 3.3

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by ShAwNz, Oct 15, 2004.

  1. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi

    Did a search here and found http://www.webumake.com/free/mailscanner.htm, but its only tested on Centos 3.1 . Anyone know whats the best solution for installation of Mailscanner on Centos 3.3 ? Prefably with Clam AV as well. Thanks
     
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    That script works on CentOS 3.3.

    I would be surprised if the author himself has not tested it on 3.3 and simply did not update the docs.
     
  3. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How did you know ? You tried it out yourself ?
     
  4. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm running it on CentOS 3.3. Chirpy does good work and is always on top of things. :)
     
  5. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi

    What does this option mean ? "If you have chosen to run SpamAssassin through MailScanner instead of cPanel" And when we ran the script, what does the first option mean as well ? Thanks
     
  6. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Spamassassin is run thorugh CPanel by default if you enable it in WHM. With Chirpy's script you can turn that off and run it through Mailscanner. I leave it in CPanel, but it's more configurable via Spamassassin. I don't remember what the first option was. I haven't used the script for a while.
     
  7. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I kinda remember the first option was something like "Use Spamassasin and per domains ruleset" . I entered Yes...so it means now it runs through Mailscanner ? They should really put it clearer .....
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would suspect that that may be the case ;)
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That option should be clearer from this statement on the installation page:
     
  10. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is it possible then, to change Spamassasin to run through cpanel now after i had chosen "Yes" for the first option during installation ?
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes, though it's certainly not advisable. You should edit MailScanner.conf and set:

    Use SpamAssassin = No

    Then restart MailScanner and undo any steps you took in the quoted text in my previous post.
     
  12. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks :) Do you have a simplified way to install Clam AV for virus scanning ?
     
  13. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If all you want to do is to use ClamAV, then you could just use the cPanel clamavconnector, though it is very limited in its configurability and functionality.
     
  14. ShAwNz

    ShAwNz Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I see, so how do i enable virus scanning of emails in Mailscanner ? Anything else needed to install ? Thanks
     
  15. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
Loading...

Share This Page