The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Main Domain And Addon Domains In Directory Selection

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by exclusiveone, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. exclusiveone

    exclusiveone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm a little new to the cPanel world and I hope you guys can help me become as efficient as you are.


    When I go to file manager > directory selection > down arrow (where my domains are listed) I see:

    maindomain.com

    addondomain.com.maindomain.com

    addondomain.com

    What does this mean?

    Can I use either one when I upload/ ftp files to the addon domain?


    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Not sure what this means or where its at:
    But, when you create an addon domain, it is actually a subdomain. So:

    public_html/ = is your "main domain" or domain.com
    addondomain/ = is your "addon domain" or otherdomain.com
     
  3. exclusiveone

    exclusiveone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hey Infopro, thanks for the response.

    After you click on File Manager under Frequently Accessed Areas it takes you to the File Manager Directory Selection window (sorry, that's what I meant about directory selection), then where it says Please select a directory to open:, there's a rectangular box with a little down arrow/ triangle under Document Root for:.

    Yes, I actually figured out that cPanel creates an addon domain (addondomain.com) and a sub domain (addondomain.com.maindomain.com).

    I have another question. Can I set up my addon domain's document root like this: addons/addondomain.com/public_html

    I've read about people setting things up in a folder named addons and putting the addondomain.com and public_html folder in it so they can keep things more organized.

    Have you heard of this?
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ah, the popup. Understood.

    You can create addon domains inside a directory in public_html, yes. When creating it you'd edit the Document Root section. You can also create them outside public_html as well.

    Addon domains - cPanel Documentation
     
  5. exclusiveone

    exclusiveone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I created my addon domain like this to try it out: addons/addondomain.com/public_html. Which I guess is considered to be outside public_html, right?

    So when I upload my website, I put everything in the last folder (addons/addondomain.com/public_html).

    Is this set up going to work?

    I hope you understand.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,471
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    addons/addondomain.com/ *is* the public_html for that addon domain.

    addons/addondomain.com/public_html <- that's a directory in it.
     
  7. exclusiveone

    exclusiveone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Ah, I see. Thanks for the help Infopro.
     
Loading...

Share This Page