The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Main server domain no longer works

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by webservers, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just upgraded cpanel and now my main server domain no longer works.

    Instead, it redirects to DEFAULT WEB SITE page at [mydomain]/cgi-sys/defaultwebpage.cgi

    All other domains work.
    It is not a problem with the IP.
    Nameservers are fine.
    Not a problem with .htaccess file.

    How do I fix this bug?
     
  2. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also if I try to manually go to files on that domain I get the following error page:

    404 Not Found
    The server can not find the requested page:

    blabla.bla/bla/bla/bla/bla.jpg (port 80)
    Please forward this error screen to bla.bla's WebMaster.​

    (I replaced domain with "bla" for privacy)

    Also, subdomains work fine.

    Update: Now the main domain does not work at all, just times out. Subdomains now revert to that default page.

    Addons on that domain work fine by the way, and all other cpanel domains, subdomains, and addon domains don't have any issues. The only issue is with the main WHM domain from the main cpanel account and the subdomains of only that domain.

    Update: now addon domains also redirect to defaultwebpage.
     
    #2 webservers, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2015
  3. cPanelRyan

    cPanelRyan Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is typically due to the domains not resolving to the IP address that is setup in Apache. Can you confirm that all domains running into this issue resolve to the same IP address that Apache has setup? Is this utilizing 1:1 NAT? Can you submit a ticket regarding this issue if you have not already so we can take a look at this?
     
  4. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    all domains resolve to correct ip globally.
    ipconfig/flushdns does not have any effect.
    clear cache, close browser, open browser does not have any effect.
    restart computer does not have any effect.
     
  5. cPanelRyan

    cPanelRyan Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do the domains resolve to the correct IP address in Apache as well? You can check this with the command below:

    # httpd -S

    You do not have to send us the output on the forums, but if you submitted this info with a ticket, I can take a look. What is your ticket ID if you've made one already? If not, we need you to submit a ticket to see why this is happening, as we will need more information.
     
  6. webservers

    webservers Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I already told you they resolve to the correct IP address.

    Seems to be working now. Problem must be resolved. I will update here if it occurs again.
     
    #6 webservers, Jun 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2015
  7. cPanelRyan

    cPanelRyan Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am glad to hear the issues have been resolved. If you find any other issues, let us know.
     
Loading...

Share This Page