The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

main shared ip

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by petko_penkov, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. petko_penkov

    petko_penkov Registered

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi
    did you how i can check that
    i have cpanel server whith some ips and one main shared
    my problem is that if my main acount is petko_example.com
    main acount i mean that this is the company name with hosting
    and when iwrite petko_example.co its ok but when i type main shared ip
    into the browser it dosn`t open default on apache -cpanel and not my company's name.
    it 's open first virtual hosting explained in httpd.conf in apache dir.

    HOW i can redirect main shared ip from browser to redirect it to my company's name username/hosting.
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You are wanting what is called a dedicated IP. This way you can open the website from the IP and domain name.
     
  3. sibinkc

    sibinkc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    It seems you hosted the domain 'petko_example.com' using a shared IP. To get the website using an IP you should have hosted your domain over a dedicated IP, i.e, no other domains should use this IP. If you are the server owner follow these steps to assign a dedicated IP to your domian.

    1. Log into WHM
    2. Click on the link named 'Show IP Address Usage' under the section 'IP Functions' and find a free IP (IP Which is not allocated to any Domain)

    3. Click on the link named 'Change Site's IP Address' under the 'Account Functions' section
    4. Select the IP from the drop list
    5. Click on the button named 'Change'

    Hope this will help you.
     
  4. mikelegg

    mikelegg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to do something similar to petko_penkov.

    It has nothing to do with whether or not my main site is on a shared or dedicated ip or a completely different server for that matter.

    What I want to happen when someone types in the SHARED IP address, is that they are taken to a page with my logo/branding on it and a link to my main web site.

    To achieve this I created an account to hold the "branded" page and made sure that the domain associated with that account was listed first in httpd.conf.

    The problem is that every time a new entry is made in http.conf it gets added to the top of the file, making that domain (or subdomain) the default for the shared IP.

    Is there a way of keeping a domain at the first position in http.conf?
     
  5. fcitrolo

    fcitrolo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am currently experiencing the exact same problem.

    Any subdomain that is created becomes the shared ip address.

    Looking at the httpd.conf the new subdomain gets added after the virtual host which is causing the problem which I do not know how to fix.
     
  6. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just make sure something like this is at the top of the virtualhost section of httpd.conf

    Code:
    <VirtualHost MAIN.IP.ADDRESS>
    BytesLog domlogs/hostname.com-bytes_log
    ServerName hostname.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs <---OR WHERE EVER YOU WANT
    </VirtualHost>
    
     
  7. lizardo

    lizardo Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arequipa - Peru
    i have the sama problem

    i have the same problem

    i add this

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    BytesLog domlogs/ND-10028-bytes_log
    ServerName ND-10028
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    BytesLog domlogs/ND-10028-bytes_log
    ServerName ND-10028
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    but when someone creates a subdomain appears before the second virtual host:

    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    BytesLog domlogs/ND-10028-bytes_log
    ServerName ND-10028
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>


    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    ServerAlias www.test.xxxxxxxxx.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@test.xxxxxxx.com
    DocumentRoot /home/amarilla/public_html/test
    ServerName test.xxxxxx.com
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .

    </VirtualHost>



    <VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
    BytesLog domlogs/ND-10028-bytes_log
    ServerName ND-10028
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>
     
  8. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I created a bugzilla entry for this:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=5743

    I didn't see where one had previously been created.

    I'm just curious as to whether or not this behavior is now the standard cPanel approach and if there is a specific reason why.
     
Loading...

Share This Page