The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Major EasyApache PHP problem

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by linkup, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Help needed please....

    I had a working, functioning cPanel installation but in an attempt to put a PHP program on a client domain, things went to heck in an hand basket. The server configuration is:

    cPanel 11.24.5-R38506 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    REDHAT Enterprise 4 i686 standard

    The program I was trying to instal, PHPGEDVIEW requires PDO/MySQL. I checked a forum topic here and it suggested going into EasyApache and choosing the two PDO options, and letting EasyApache recompile.

    I went through EasyApache choosing all the default options, got to the page where I added the two PDO choices, and let it process, which it did without error.

    PHPGEDVIEW no longer gave me a missing PDO/MySQL error, but instead tried to download the PHP?? Then other clients on the server started complaining their PHP scripts were broken.

    Called in for support and found out that I hadn't checked PHP4, just PHP5.

    Re-ran EasyApache, this time checking the PHP4 box. No errors, completed processing, nothing any different. PHP scripts still wouldn't run.

    I am naive, but I "assumed" :confused: the default settings in EasyApache were the "current" settings, and other than adding more features, what I had was still there and would still work? Not realizing there was far more to this that I was told about.

    Perhaps a person needs some training before running EasyApache. Perhaps there are options to check that anyone in the "know" would know about that weren't by default checked.

    I just know I have a hornet's nest on my had and still don't have the program installed, but that is the least of my worries with so many other domains broken that require PHP.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Lew
     
    #1 linkup, Oct 13, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  2. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    tried an upgrade, still no go

    Hiya...

    I didn't realize it, but the server wasn't set to automatically update so I enabled that and forced an update.

    In addition to some pages now working, on the PHP program I installed, but I also lost Gallery (Menalto) and B2 which is one a LOT of my sites...so even web pages that didn't need PHP, now my dBases seem unaccessible...

    What got set in EasyApache, or didn't get set to "break" PHP/MySQL like that? Did turning on PDO do that? Shouldn't it work as it did plus in new ways?

    Thanks!
     
  3. linkup

    linkup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Would like to thank Ken from cPanel support for helping me solve this...mainly was the program defaulting to php4 vs. 5 when running config.
     
Loading...

Share This Page