The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Major Help NEEDED

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Beansweb.co.uk, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hey i have a dedicated server which has apache installed on ti and a few other things, its a dedi server. i went to install cpanel and the proeceess went ok and i though ti was finished but no cpanle things show up, how od i fix this ??????????????/


    ty in advance
     
  2. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    please anyone
     
  3. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    1) take a deep breath and be patient. these aren't official cpanel support forums.. :)

    2) can you be more specific about what you're seeing (or not seeing for that matter)
     
  4. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hey this is wat im seeing
    http://209.213.120.20/

    i followed the installation
    i have installed it b4 fine, but gurr, my first proper dedi server

    and i was wondering how mid fix this.

    without getting it reformatted as it will cost me money i dont have lol
     
  5. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ah. ok :)

    I'd probably try reinstalling cpanel first, watching the whole process... it's long, and boring, but that'll be a good place to start. There shouldn't be any issue with reinstalling, and there's no way to un-install, so just take a crack at it.
     
  6. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well i cant reformat, im getting help form a mate so hopefully it works out
    if not ill be back here.


    by the way it dont seem like cpanel installed
    :eek:


    ----edit ------------------------------------------

    i tried sh latest but abeter the cpanel thing it just stopped
     
  7. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    no luck

    well no lcuck
    i found .cpan and insalld in home
    so does anyone know wat i should do??????
     
  8. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Since you had Apache installed on the server, the cPanel come with its own Apache server. You have two options, either to remove the old version, the one you had before installing the cPanel; or re-format the HD and start over again.
     
  9. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How exactly are you installing cPanel?

    What OS are you using?
     
  10. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    its red hat linux enteprise, i didnt think it would matter because it insatlled on other servers with apache already insatlled. i actually think the problem is that cpanel didnot install. because there is no cpnale page or on the server there is no paragraph thin i mabye be wrong about this bout thats wat i think


    i installed it by
    in home dir wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    sh latest



    then just let cpanel do its thing


    ----edit--------------------
    if it were the old apache causing the problem then would it not show the old pages page ie the redhat linux test page one

    i think the problem is that it never finsihed the install
     
    #10 Beansweb.co.uk, Jun 10, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2006
  11. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    You have tried installing cPanel twice with no luck. Better format the Harddrive at this stage and re-install again rather than trying third time and messing things on it.
     
  12. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i only tried once to get it itsalled becuas enow i cant get the latest from layer1.cpanel.net for some reason :rolleyes: looks like im gonna have to pay for t get it reformatted. i have another cpanel server but its on a vps,:eek:
     
  13. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    if there are some cpanel people here (admins, developers here. i know wat the problem is, i did a test server on my pc and it is installing ok. i did it using ssh so i can keep logs. anyhoo i get the samce pasge as on my dedi server. which tells me that the setup did not complete for some reson. i am currently getting logs of the server from my host to figure out why
     
  14. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm wondering if the OS was installed in SecurityEnhanced mode (SELinux) which causes issues with cPanel.

    It may be as simple as asking them if it's enabled, and to completely disable it if it is.
     
  15. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    woould i still have to reinstall and all that stuff

    ---edit----------
    id like the windows version better probably hopefully its out soon
     
  16. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18

    That's a good question. Supposedly SELinux can be disabled after install, but I'm not sure how that might affect cPanel. At this point, it doesn't sound like you have much to lose except a bit more time.

    Here's a page explaining it a bit, and about halfway down are instructions for changing it.

    http://www.centos.org/docs/4/html/rhel-selg-en-4/rhlcommon-section-0068.html

    It's for CentOS, which is RedHat Enterprise.
     
  17. Adrnalnrsh

    Adrnalnrsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    AZ
  18. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i was told it was not installed. and i for some reson cannot insattl cpanel again bec ause i can not get the latest from cpanel because of the server cannot find it or sumething like that. the reason why i dont wat to format is because i was told they charge $300 for this service.



    [/usr/bin]# sestatus
    SELinux status: disabled
    [/usr/bin]# SELinux status: disabled
    -bash: SELinux: command not found
    [/usr/bin]# cd /home
    [/home]# wget http://serversquads.info/latest
    --05:40:49-- http://serversquads.info/latest
    => `latest'
    Resolving serversquads.info... failed: Name or service not known.
    [/home]# wget http://cpanel.net
    --05:41:10-- http://cpanel.net/
    => `index.html'
    Resolving cpanel.net... failed: Name or service not known.
    [/home]# Resolving cpanel.net... failed: Name or service not known.
     
    #18 Beansweb.co.uk, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2006
  19. Beansweb.co.uk

    Beansweb.co.uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    sorry for double post but this is so people dont get confused. i was told that cpanel were updating and i was wondering was this why everything messed up. I really want to get this working because it is a sweet server and im losing money every day i cant gte this working.
     
  20. Adrnalnrsh

    Adrnalnrsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    AZ
    #20 Adrnalnrsh, Jun 11, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page