The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

major pain: awstats won't update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Secret Agent, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I've been trying to fix awstats on this server that hasn't updated since March 12th.

    First,
    The load average that will cause the server status to appear red (leave blank for default): 5
    Pentium 2.4GHz / 1GB Memory / Minimal Load

    Ran
    /scripts/runweblogs user
    I did this for all 4 accounts

    Account sizes are:
    0
    1100
    406
    1060

    I even ran /scripts/fixcommonproblems, /scripts/runstatsonce

    I also deleted all log files from /tmp for each account as well first to easey on the resources during update.

    It just won't work when I run /scripts/runweblogs, cpu load goes up to about 3-4 and it just either says 'waiting for load to go down...' or just hangs (not freeze though) and does nothing.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the size of your domains log files ?!

    found at : /usr/local/apache/domlogs/yourdomain.com

    do a 'ls -lh /usr/local/apache/domlogs/yourdomain.com' and if it were near 2 Giga, it might be the reason for your problem.
     
  3. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Should I simply delete all the logs inside that directory and start fresh?
     
  4. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I deleted the main domain logs (some were huge) but still problem persists odd enough.

    It gets stuck here for more than 10 minutes

    root@server [/usr/local/apache/domlogs]# /scripts/runweblogs user
    Log checker loaded ok..
    ==> Loading Config (cpanellogd) .... Done
    ==> cpaneld(logger) 8.0 Starting (1 processor system).....
    ==> Shared RRDTOOL support enabled
    Processing ryoni84...
    [add subdomain] user olga.domain.com
    [add subdomain] user blog.domain.com
    [add subdomain] user domain.com
    Run Logs user,domain.com,0,domain.com blog.domain.com olga.domain.com
    LANGUAGE: english /usr/local/cpanel/lang/.english
     
  5. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If it's actually near the 2 Giga limit, you'll have to either rotate your log files or even delete them if you don't need them anymore.
     
  6. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I did delete them already and there is nothing now larger than 1MB (other files like ftp logs) but still the problem is there
     
  7. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I tried an account with literally 0MB and it gets stuck here

    Phase 2 : Now process new records (Flush history on disk after 20000 hosts)...
    Waiting for load to go down to continue

    The load cpu is less than 2.0
     
  8. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does it hang after displaying the last line "i.e LANGUAGE: english /usr/local/cpanel/lang/.english" ? .. If so, have you checked for '/usr/local/cpanel/lang/.english' .. Is it really there ?, Also, you may need to check your log files. I'm not sure where the awstats log 'script log', so I'll take alook and I'll keep you updated :)
     
  9. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Yes it hangs at that line and the file is there also
     
  10. Compubuster

    Compubuster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    By the way, is 'Awstats Reverse Dns Resolution' option checked in WHM->Tweak Settings ?! .. If so, try to uncheck it and try again. 'Still Looking ;)'
     
  11. LA_fro

    LA_fro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Update WHM

    If you go into whm and tweak settings there should be a line:The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended (default 0):

    Simply update this to 3 or higher. Logs take a lot of load on the server and can easily jack up a normally 2 or 3 load server to 5 or 6 but based upon your specs that should not be a problem. The default zero seems to suspend this above 2.
     
  12. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Anyone else know?
     
  13. markerpower

    markerpower Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have been having this problem since the beginning of March. My Cpanel hasn't been updating and same with the stats.

    The same thing happens for me. I even increased my server load and enabled 'Delete each domain's access logs after stats run' .
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - major pain awstats
  1. LaxSlash1993
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    823

Share This Page