The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

make blackhole default?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostseeker, Jul 2, 2003.

  1. hostseeker

    hostseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would like to make :blackhole: the default address in all new accounts that I set up. But I don't want to have to manually change each account to :blackhole: I want the default to be :blackhole: unless I change it to something else.

    Any ideas how to do this? Also if I do it, will upgrading Cpanel change it back?

    Reason is to combat spammers who send email to info@yourdomain.com, webmaster@yourdomain.com, support@yourdomain.com, etc. which ends up in the catchall account. I know i can manually change it, but I set up lots of accounts and I need the default to be :blackhole:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    edit: /scripts/wwwacct
    find: *:
    remove: $user
    replace with: :blackhole:
    new line should read: *: :blackhole:
    Save & Close
    chattr +ai /scripts/wwwacct

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. hostseeker

    hostseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Many thanks, that's exactly what I needed. I tried it and set up a new account and it worked great!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. BuffaloWeb

    BuffaloWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Excellent tweak!
     
  5. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very much.

    By the way what is the difference between :blackhole: and :fail:

    Thanks;)
     
  6. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    :blackhole: does not produce a NDR for the sender
     
  7. trakwebster

    trakwebster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry for my ignorance, but what is an NDR, please?
     
  8. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    NDR is a notice to the sender thst the mail could not be deliverd.

    Thanks yes just what i needed :D
     
  9. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Non-Delivery Report
     
  10. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Blackhole just deletes the incoming message. Fail sends a message back to the sender to let them know it failed. Since spam hardly ever comes from a real address, :fail: will tend to increase the size of your mail queue.
     
  11. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep i notice that. lol :D

    Great tip
     
  12. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    find: *:

    Could someone point out where this is? I looked and looked for this and could not find it in wwwacct.:confused:
     
  13. RaveKnights

    RaveKnights Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Where Out There!
    use PICO to edit when you SSH to server

    hold down ctrl button and hit w

    now enter *:

    and bingo!
     
  14. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    excellent. Thank you very much!
     
  15. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I have a few e-mails in "q" that say the following:

    Any ideas?
     
  16. RaveKnights

    RaveKnights Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Where Out There!
    I never seen this before? perhaps go to that account and make sure that the default reads :blackhole: with no other characters.
     
  17. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    this has only started since I did the tweak in this thread.
     
  18. RaveKnights

    RaveKnights Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Where Out There!
    Make sure the line you tweaked has no other characters than

    *: :blackhole:

    or change it back to

    *: $user

    see if error goes away.

    Sounds like a good tweak though!
     
  19. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    print VALIAS <<EOM;
    *: :blackhole:
    EOM

    thats what my file looks like.
     
  20. RaveKnights

    RaveKnights Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Some Where Out There!
    if it is causing problems i would change it back.

    did you make a backup you can switch over real quick?
     
Loading...

Share This Page