The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making an Add-On Domain Standalone cPanel account ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dolay, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. dolay

    dolay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Btw. Wow its about 4 years since last time i ve logged cPanel.net

    I moved a cPanel account from shared hosting company to my VPS now that domain has an addon domain with 5gb datas and several configurations including MBs of database, and i ve to turn it to standalone cPanel account.

    I even forgot if this feature possible via WHM?

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It seems that you want to place the add on domain as an single main domain. If yes then you can create the new account from your WHM and move all the content of your add on domain to a newly created account.
     
  3. dolay

    dolay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    But the account already exist with all contents running and up as the addon domain at the same VPS, WHM does not allow for a satandalone domain creation of an existing add-on domain
     
  4. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    Drop the ADD-ON domain, Using option, Do not Delete the folder/content

    then create the a/c from WHM
    use ssh to copy the "add-on" folder content from add on folder to target public_html folder.
     
  5. dolay

    dolay Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    then restoring mysql databes will make it work as just before?
     
  6. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    it should work as before.

    check there has been same question many times here.

    I think i also read somewhere about some rename trick for mysql DB to let it work under new user account.
     
  7. notuo

    notuo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And to complete...

    We have to move the corresponding folder in the /mail isn't it?
     
  8. kuldeep_

    kuldeep_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    To copy email for addon domain, first create all email account from cPanel >> Email account under your newly added domain.

    now ssh to server.

    HTML:
    root@Server[~]#cd /home/old_username/mail/addondomain.tld/
    root@Server[~]#cp -arv * /home/new_username/mail/domainname.tld/
    
    Above commend will copy all email from your addon domain to your newly created individual domain.

    NOTE: Replace old_username and new_username with your corresponding username of domain.

    Replace addondomain.tld and domainname.tld with your addon domain name and individual domain name respectively.
     
  9. notuo

    notuo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you kuldeep_
     
Loading...

Share This Page