The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making Backups

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vashti, Jul 12, 2003.

  1. vashti

    vashti Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I'm very much a newbie to Cpanel, so apologies :)

    I am wanting to backup all of the user data on a weekly basis, and have noticed a section in WHM that deals with this. Lovely.

    I've looked in the documentation and it seems very easy to set up, except for:

    I am guessing that I need to go in as r00t, and create a directory named "backup" - or is this created automatically on first run??

    Any advice gratefully received!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey there,


    It should be partitioned when the OS server was set up on the server.

    Click "Server Information " to see if it's there in the WHM.

    If it is great if not you can create a folder from root in and directory and have the backups go there.

    Just make sure you have room in the folder you want the backups to go to. at least the size of home)

    Also in the new cpanel you can do remote backups, which will be much better, so keep a eye out.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. vashti

    vashti Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Many thanks!

    The disk usage is showing:

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda6 372M 215M 138M 61% /
    /dev/hda1 50M 11M 37M 22% /boot
    /dev/hda3 9.4G 1.4G 7.5G 15% /home
    none 251M 0 251M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hda2 26G 1.7G 22G 7% /usr
    /dev/hda7 250M 103M 134M 44% /var

    So I'm guessing it wasn't auto created...

    I guess then it's just a case of creating a directory on the same level as /home ?? and that's all there is too it? Or is that too easy ? :) :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. vashti

    vashti Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    remote backups ?? I guess this would be backups set up by the individual users, rather than by myself ?

    That would be handy! How do I enable that ?

    Many thanks for your help :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Remote backups are going to be in the back menu when their ready, which according to Nick is any day.

    But for backups on your machine it is that easy just make a folder called backups in the home directory and put as the back up location: /home/backups

    BTW remote means the backups will be on another server, not sure if I said that or not :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page