The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Manage Shell Access nuisance after upgrade to 11.36.1.5

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tom Risager, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Tom Risager

    Tom Risager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark, Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have account packages defined with shell access disabled by default. If I need to grant shell access to an account, I use the "Manage Shell Access" feature.

    Since upgrading, when I grant shell access I get a warning message: "Package conflict: Account is on package Standard" ("Standard" is a package I have defined). I must then click one of two links:

    "Set this account to have no package" or
    "Keep this account on this package (not recommended)".

    If I don't click one of the links, shell access is not enabled (even though the radio button indicates that it is). Clicking one of the links is now required for the change to take effect, where until now it was sufficient to make a selection.

    I find this a very annoying extra step, and I don't understand the need for it. I cannot imagine a situation where setting the account to have no package would be the right choice, and I much prefer the way it worked up until this release.

    EDIT: What makes even less sense is, if I keep the package and enable shell access, if I then want to switch back to "Disabled shell" I get the same warning - even though the package has shell disabled by default.
     
    #1 Tom Risager, Apr 17, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel is showing warning because you are trying to edit the values that are assigned to a particular package. When a value is enabled manually that's disabled in the package, its normal to warn the admin that the values are altered. In similar case, I would create a custom package for this particular user.

    Cheers!!!
     
  3. Tom Risager

    Tom Risager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark, Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I understand that I can create another package and assign the user to that. Any package changes would then require updates in two locations, including changes that have nothing to do with shell access.

    I always thought that the "manage shell access" option was intended for exception cases, where you want to quickly grant or deny shell access. It becomes a somewhat pointless option to have in WHM if you are now required to maintain separate packages anyway after the lastest update.
     
  4. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hum now that's an interesting one, I'd always thought it was necessary to click right through the prompt to get the shell access enabled, you live and learn I guess :p

    When enabling shell access for an individual account I'd always just picked "Keep this account on this package (not recommended)"

    I believe the prompt was introduced as a reminder of sorts that if you were to edit the original package, the shell access granted would then be overwritten (removed), causing an unintended loss of functionality for the user. I'm not sure as you say how this fits in with the "manage shell access" feature, which I've always thought of as just a shortcut to the basic "modify an account" feature.

    Perhaps a staff member could clarify if the "manage shell access" screen's settings are stored and applied independantly (in which case this appears to count as a bug) or if it makes the same changes to an account as "modify account" and is thus vulnerable to package edits
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The docs should help here a bit I think:
    Manage Shell Access - cPanel Documentation

     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To manage shell access for our customers we have 2 versions of every package, with and without shell access.
     
  7. Tom Risager

    Tom Risager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark, Denmark
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The documentation heading "How do I enable or disable shell access for specific users?" accurately describes how it works in 11.36.0.21. Version 11.36.1.5 behaves differently.

    Yes, I understand that it would be possible to have duplicate packets and then cPanel could simply remove the "Manage shell access" option. Not my preference.
     
Loading...

Share This Page