The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Managing numerous email forwarders

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by gerry@pairofdoc, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. gerry@pairofdoc

    gerry@pairofdoc Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I manage a web-site for my neighbor association. As a part of this, I have set up about 150 email forwarders. Managing these through the web interface is quite a chore. Is there an easier way to do this? I.e., can I create a file in some ofrmat an upload it in some manner?

    Thanks!
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    procmail is an alternative.
     
  3. sb-host

    sb-host Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have done this before using a text file. It was quite a while ago, so I may be a bit rusty, double check before you proceede. :)

    You can go to the cPanel in question, create a few forwarders. Then, look at [/etc/valiases] for that domain. You can follow that format and paste them in as needed, or however you prefer to work in SSH.
    Glenn
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I doubt if he can access the /etc/valiases , unless he has /bin/bash shell access.. from his host.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, you can always access the domains /etc/valiases file using a perl script and do it that way.
     
  6. gerry@pairofdoc

    gerry@pairofdoc Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you all for your suggestions.

    Chirpy - your suggestion seems to be rather straight-forward. But, maybe you can add a little more detail.

    My workstation is a Windows box. I can install Perl if needed. I assume that I would run the Perl script on my box and it would access /etc/valiases on the host computer? Thus, username/password information would have to be provided? If my understanding is correct, there is nothing special about Perl - I could use any scripting language.

    Any guidance you can offer is greatly appreciated!
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, you'd run a perl script on the server under the account whose valiases file you want to modify, for example, as a CGI script.
     
Loading...

Share This Page