The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mandrake 10

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Yonatan, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. Yonatan

    Yonatan Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry I am new to all of this but I was wondering how fast a new release is integrated into the supported list of OSs, more specifically, Mandrake 10

    thanks

    -Yonatan
     
  2. gfisch

    gfisch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    I too would like to know. I want to try cpanel on mandrake 10. What are the issues? :confused:
     
  3. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The speed of new OS support is dependent upon demand and similarity to a supported distribution.
     
  4. EcoHosting

    EcoHosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    Here's my support!

    I'd like to install Mandrake 10 with cPanel. Primarily due to some new hardware I am purchasing. I'm building a dual opteron box and would just LOOOVVVVEEE it if I can take immediate advantage of the 64-bit capabilities.

    So, when can we expect it? :)

    G
     
  5. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'll try to do a Mandrake 10 install this week to see how it works out. It might just be a simple matter of tweaking sysup.

    You could also use Fedora Core 2 64bit.
     
  6. EcoHosting

    EcoHosting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    Fedora too iffy

    We decided against Fedora because of the realities surrounding its release and the notion it is sort of a testing ground for RH. We don't want to deal with the hassles of constant upgrades and possible instability.

    Let me know how the testing goes.

    G
     
  7. robognome

    robognome Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any news on the the Mandrake 10 install, cpanelben?

    Well, there's always Plesk. ;) They support mandrake 10.

    Let us know if it worked out. I don't want to buy something I can't use.
     
  8. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry, that one slipped by me. I got the box and the media, but I didn't get any further than that. Thanks for reminding me.
     

Share This Page