The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

manually downgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pacificw, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. pacificw

    pacificw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how would I manually downgrade Cpanel to 10x?

    currently, I'm not sure if it's me (meaning my home router) or
    my dedicated box or cpanel that is running at snail speed. so
    I'm trying to eliminate the problem and roll back to 10x in
    cpanel first since this is the only thing that seems to be running
    slow.

    so can someone tell me how please?
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You should first determine if you have a problem yourself before messing with a server that may be in perfect shape. Ask someone else to test your websites or a cpanel on your server.

    At this point, I don't think downgrading is an option. Feel free to pm me, ill be happy to check out the path.
     
  3. pacificw

    pacificw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    well at this point since nothing else is slow or hanging up on me, I'm
    going to have to say its the server or the cpanel software. both are
    hanging up on me quite a bit.

    as the hours tick away, the more frustrated i'm becoming.. it's at the
    point now, where I cannot even input a new user acct because it just
    hangs up on me.
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    You cannot. It's gone forever.
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36

    You should ask cpanel for help since you pay for support via your license or have an admin audit your box. This is nothing to get frustrated over since you are paying for help and resources
     
  6. pacificw

    pacificw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    see that's the problem. I have my cpanel license through my provider, yet my provider doesn't support anything other then the install of cpanel. I attempted before asking the folks at cpanel for help on another issue and because it wasn't me that held the license, they wouldn't help me. so i'm stuck between a rock and a hard place right now... thus the frustration.

    I just tried to add a user and it hung on me once again. *sigh*
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,447
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You don't give much explanation as to the problem or post any wierd error messages you found in your logs, so not much anyone is going to be able to do I don't think.

    If the server seems to be hanging, its hanging on something, and (with any luck) should generate a logfile with errors or at least some info of whats going wrong.

    Also, if you haven't yet, check the upgrade checklist tomake sure you're in good shape there. http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=66166

    If you can't dig up support on the forums or solve this yourself, I did read a comment by someone on cPanel staff stating that they have relaxed support tickets to most everyone right now with the new release of cPanel11, for a limited time I'm sure. Ask them, 'billing AT cpanel.net' would work I think.

    This tells us nothing really. But you might like to install this, http://www.logview.org/content/view/5/26/ for easy access to your logfiles that just might.

    That said, if you think it may be your router (or home firewall), that's an easy one to test. Remove/disable from the connection for a few minutes and see if you still hang when doing something on your server. It's called troubleshooting.
     
Loading...

Share This Page