The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Manually initiate backup with Amazon S3

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by tribulant, Mar 3, 2014.

  1. tribulant

    tribulant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Good day,

    I installed the CURRENT release 11.42 which has the Amazon S3 destination feature for backups.

    How can I manually initiate a backup to /backups and also to Amazon S3 instead of waiting?
    I just want to test it to ensure it works to have peace of mind.

    Thank you for your assistance.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,475
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I believe this command would force backups to run:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
     
  3. tribulant

    tribulant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks, I'll try it out.

    Is this for the new backup system or the legacy backup system?

    All commands I found in the documentation and online keep telling me that the legacy backup system is disabled. That's the idea... I want to use the new backup system with Amazon S3 destination in version 11.42
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you can force a generation of backups with the new backup system via:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force

    The legacy backup system uses:

    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup

    Thank you.
     
  5. tribulant

    tribulant Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Excellent, thank you very much!
    This was very useful and I'm sure that others will find it useful too.
     
  6. luminary

    luminary Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When I did this, I received the following error in the log file:

    Code:
    /bin/gtar: /var/cpanel: file changed as we read it
    [backup] Failed to perform full backup of /var/cpanel/ to /backup/2014-11-10/system/dirs/_var_cpanel.tar.gz
    Is this only because it was a forced backup? Will a regularly scheduled backup work?
     
    #6 luminary, Nov 10, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2014
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It failed due to the following message:

    The /var/cpanel directory or it's contents changed as it was read. It's likely a rare occurrence for that to happen, but monitor your backup logs in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup to see if it continues to occur.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page