bughatti

Registered
Nov 26, 2019
Billings, Montana
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Hello all, new to the forum. Sort of new to cpanel, I have been using it for about 4 months now at my work. I have some questions I hope others can help me with.

A few months ago I setup an internal mariadb galera cluster and put it behind haproxy. It is a 2 node cluster for now. I could not find a direct document on describing how to do what I wanted so I pieced together from a few different articles. So far I have 1 cpanel server running with the cluster as a remote database and I have not come across any issues, I have 7 sites running and from what I can tell, they all act just as normal as a standalone cpanel/db server. Yesterday I built a second cpanel server and added the same clustered db to it as the other one. I am using the same username/password to access the clustered db from both cpanel servers.

Does anyone have experience in doing this type of setup, pros/cons? Is there a best document to follow for this setup.

2 big questions I have so far in testing. When using the transfer tool to transfer a site from 1 cpanel to another cpanel, is it best to uncheck copy database, since both cpanel servers have access to same database. I would assume if I transferred the website without the database, it would know how to reconnect and its location/permissions.
I have tested moving a site over, it is a pretty basic wordpress site, the site at the new IP address says error establishing a database connection. If i change my local dns to point the site back to the old ip, the site works fine. This tells me something in cpanel is an issue even though the error seems to be a wordpress issue. I have validated the wp-config files on both locations and they both match. I do not see duplicate databases in phpmyadmin.

Thanks for any advice or assistance.

cPanelLauren

Forums Analyst II
Staff member
Nov 14, 2017
Houston
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider