The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mass account creation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FarSerenade, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. FarSerenade

    FarSerenade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I'm purchasing a hosting company, and his system right now was built inhouse, so we're trying to figure out a way to transfer them to cPanel. So my question is, what is required to script account creation, and mail setup? If someone has, or could quickly create a script, to create a bunch of accounts given a text file with account names, passwords etc, just to show how it's done, we could probably script something how ourselves.

    If you can help, let me know.
     
  2. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have a look in the cPanel Docs on the site for XML-API :)
     
  3. FarSerenade

    FarSerenade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay, so you could execute more than one of those lines right?
     
  4. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You'd code a loop in so the script would cycle through the data you provide and create an account for each set of data.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Email setup would be done through an API2 function, which can be called via the XML-API. A forum search for doaddpop should yield a few useful results for you :).
     
  6. FarSerenade

    FarSerenade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. stoo2000

    stoo2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also an interesting note would be you would still need to code your script to cycle through calling those ones, so it would pretty much be easier for you to start from scratch.
     
  9. FarSerenade

    FarSerenade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm sure it would be, but I'm far from being a coder. And I don't really have enough money to hire one at this point.
     
  10. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should be possible to do this in a few hours, or you could work up some sort of loop around the other scripts. No matter how you do it, it's going to be messy in the extreme to import that many domains; the fact that it's not under a control panel should reduce the purchase price.
     
  11. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You and I think alike! Many people think they're creating an asset by having someone code up a custom panel, but it's actually a terrible idea in many ways.
     
Loading...

Share This Page