Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Mass changing of IPs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tiff2342, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. tiff2342

    tiff2342 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Changed IPs on one of the nameservers. What is the best way to change the IP on all the zone files? (there is a lot of them and multiple name servers)
     
  2. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you wish to change the IP in all zone files, below is something you can try. If you are unsure if this is the solution to your question, do contact your web host OR system admin.

    This will replace the old with new IP in all zone files. Restart DNS/named on the server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tiff2342

    tiff2342 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you need to change the time format on them too so the changes are pushed to the other name servers?
     
  4. tiff2342

    tiff2342 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    do I also need to edit configure files or something as well on the nameservers and main servers?
     
  5. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No, once you change the IP's and restart DNS service it will reflect in couple of hours worldwide. Yes, you will have to point the name server to new IP at registrar's end as well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    The best way to change the IP address for multiple accounts is to use:

    "WHM >> IP Functions >> IP Migration Wizard"

    This is documented at:

    IP Migration Wizard

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. tiff2342

    tiff2342 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Don't think that works exactly for my case. Will use the replace CL and restart named.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice