The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mass mailbox quota adjustment?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by carock, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. carock

    carock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    I have a cPanel account with about 100 mailboxes and all set with the default 10 Meg quota.

    It's too small for most of them now that they have started using it.

    Is there a way to update more than one mailbox quota at a time?

    Thanks,
    Chuck
     
  2. richenou

    richenou Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    need this too
    I have more 100 mailboxes full (quota set to 10Meg)
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That 10 MB quota is indicative of you using our older X and X2 themes. You may want to use the newer X3, where the default is 250 MB. The X and X2 themes are out of date and will likely be deprecated in version 12.

    As for the person with full mailboxes, you may wish to edit the quotas on the mailboxes.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Additionally, there is no script or functionality at this time to alter the quotas of mailboxes automatically via cPanel or WHM. You may wish to request this functionality at http://bugzilla.cpanel.net
     
  5. Bruce

    Bruce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there a way to adjust or change the default of 250 in x3 ?
     
  6. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    A search on the forums for "250 MB" yields:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=68801&highlight=250+MB

    Your answer is there.

    Also - quotas will be found in /home/<accountname/etc/domain.name/quota

    If you open that file you'll see all the POP3 accounts and their respective quotas. If you are any good at PERL you can easily write up something that will modify all quota files in all /home/*/etc/*/quota files . If you aren't great with PERL regex (like I am not), then you can't rofl.

    Mike
     
  7. gkgcpanel

    gkgcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I've written my own little Perl script to do just this.

    Works fine... At least it has worked for the better part of the last year or so.

    Now, I have one account that I have changed from 100MB to 200MB and although the quota file clearly shows 209715200, the quota is still set to 100MB instead of 200MB.

    I double checked a different account and I can change it to 200MB and back to 100MB without any problems, simply by modifying the quota file... Just this one account is totally unaffected. Not sure why. Has anyone else run into this?

    Thanks,
    Peter
     
Loading...

Share This Page