Massive Drop in Awstats

kwmlr439

Aug 24, 2013
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
I am hoping someone can help since I am new to the VPS world; I would very much appreciate it. My traffic stats dropped from 6K unique visitors a day ti 20 Unique visitors a day. I did investigate possible htaccess hack but all seems fine; Google Webmaster tool and the safe browsing did not report any issues as well. I did a full scan of the site and there are no malicious codes or hacks. This issue just started happening in the last 2 days.

While talking to my hosting provider one of the suggestions was to look in the error log to see if there are any issues. If anyone have had experience similar issue please help!!!! Here are some logs from my server and cpanel; for the "admin" please remove if there are any personal data, I am not familiar just yet.

- Removed -

Last edited by a moderator:

kwmlr439

Aug 24, 2013
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Output removed. Please don't post that sort of output without removing/modifying all information like emails, IPs, domain names.
Thank you so much! That is one of the reasons I made a note for the admin in there since I am new to the VPS world; it is much appreciated. :)

Reactions: Infopro

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011

kwmlr439

Aug 24, 2013
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hi Michael,

After a couple days digging on what's the issue I found out that a server misconfiguration is perhaps the cause. After a DNS health check I found the following errors; hope you can help.

Superfluous name server listed at parent: ns1.bluehost.com

A name server listed at the parent, but not at the child, was found. This is most likely an administrative error. You should update the parent to match the name servers at the child as soon as possible.

Superfluous name server listed at parent: ns2.bluehost.com