The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Master Domain Account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by blackram, Nov 6, 2006.

1. blackram

blackram Registered

I'm new to WHM/CPanel so I'm sure that I'm missing something blindingly obvious.

Basically I've set up the server with the hostname web1.mydomain.com and configured it as the primary name server for the domain (ns1.mydomain.com). I've then configured WHM, added a couple of accounts and it seems to be working OK. However I want to add an account for mydomain.com so that I can manage email accounts etc for this domain through CPanel, but when I try to do so it informs me that a zone for this domain already exists (which it obviously does as I had to create it when configuring the server) and aborts. Is there an easy way round this?

2. krava

krava Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

You need to change the hostname of your box or delete the DNS zone of web1.mydomain.com and then try to create the account again. You can remove the DNS zone via WHM using "delete DNS zone". Once the account is created, edit the DNS zone of mydomain.com and add "edit DNS zone" all necessary records for your hostname and nameservers.

3. blackram

blackram Registered

Thanks krava, that's basically what I did in the end although I had a little more work to do in removing references to the user that had been previously created ie.

• If you have already tried to add an account then first remove the user entries from these files: /etc/passwd, /etc/groups & /etc/userdomains
    • Edit /etc/localdomains and remove line(s) referencing domain
    • Edit httpd.conf (in /usr/local/apache/conf) and enter a # before for domain's <virtual host ...> records
    • Restart Apache i.e. service httpd restart