The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

maybe simple but urgent question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vaage, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i've just started using whm today.
    i've created multiple packages ( one for each domain i'm trying to host )
    of course i change the domain name servers to NS1 + NS2.HUMMER7.NET
    then i created an account for each domain ( i name them after the full url - www.whatever.com )

    so my question is what did i miss?
    will this, once domain name is propagated show the site located in the public_html file when a user types in www.whatever.com
     
  2. eter4

    eter4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    With what you have given me... Yes it should.

    Your sites should come up as soon as DNS propagation is complete.
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    when you create those account in whm, you don't need the "www". The sites will work with or without "www".
     
  4. mv2

    mv2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you set up your own nameserver for the new server you are on? That's the only thing I can think of that you might have missed that should be done.
     
  5. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you were right eter4 its working today (been propagated)
    a relief.
    thanks for the helpful comments everybody
     
  6. vaage

    vaage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    basic dns propagation question

    basic dns propagation question

    So far (http://sitename.com) will display in browsers.
    But (http://www.sitename.com) will not.
    Is this a step in propagation? Will it in the end resolve with the (www) included, working as well?

    Thanks,
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
  8. paulwardell

    paulwardell Registered

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    WHM, new accounts

    Hi,

    I'm new to all this and noticed a similar thing.

    I created a new account in WHM and omitted the www. from the domain name.

    Now when I click on the Cpanel link from within the WHM via account list a browser window appears but does not show the website.

    If i inserted www. into the domain name, voila it's there.

    I've read about the symlink but I cant find anything regardin aliases in the etc files.

    Any other suggestions. I know I can work around the problem by inserting www. into the browser address bar once it opens. Alternatively I coaul set up domains with www. included.

    Does anyone have any advice on how to set up domains... with or without the prfix www. ?

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page